Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
great recipe and tastes really good, just a little too sweet for my tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Midway, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very fluffy and quite delicious! Must say this is probably the best buttercream frosting I've ever made. I did use salted butter because that is what I had on hand, but I would have added a bit of salt anyway because I always use a pinch just to tone down the sweetness. Many thanks for this outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I felt like this was the first buttercream I've made that I actually liked! It is like the kind of frosting you get from the grocery store birthday cakes (meaning it's super sweet and crusts after piping), but that's what I was expecting, and the flavor was wonderful! I would definitely use this as my go-to buttercream recipe. No changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
To die for! This is only the second time I've made icing from scratch. Omigoodness! So very tasty! The guys loved it! Definitely will make again and again. It was a bit too stiff for piping (I'm not experienced so I put the icing in the bag, and I just couldn't squeeze it out). Saved it for a few days later. Brought it to room temperature. Added a couple more tablespoons of heavy cream. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Zagaja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
2nd time making it, first time used pure vanilla extract and 2tbs of french vanilla coffee creamer instead of milk, was amazing, 2nd time used Madagascar vanilla paste was very good but my preference is your old club house brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Did this recipe for cupcakes tonight. I tripled the recipe and had just enough to do 2 dozen using a large star tip decorator. It could be that I had tripled the recipe that did it, but I found it a bit runny for cupcakes, in fact, I have put them in the fridge for fear they will melt before my bake sale tonight. It is a sweet butter cream, but butter cream is supposed to be sweet. I think I will stick with my cream cheese frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
My "go to" frosting recipe. I use a touch more powdered sugar but it is delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I was able to frost both mini and regular sized cupcakes with that one mixer without doubling it. (just I did add a little bit of store bought frosting that I had on hand because I did run out of this delicious frosting within about half way throw 40cupcakes with a generous amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
It's great and makes a good amount of icing without needing a lot of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustineE.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This icing was amazing! It was so smooth and creamy. There were no lumps at all. The icing was fluffy and piped onto the cupcakes very well. I will be making this again very soon. Can't wait to try it on a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States