Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
When I made this buttercream I doubled the recipe and it came out a little grainy, but added more powdered sugar and beat it a bit more and it was delicious! Everyone loved it and I could pipe it easily. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I've made many great buttercream recipes and thought Wow! this one looks quick and easy. It was so well reviewed, I decided to try it. When I followed the recipe exactly, it was too runny and way too sweet (and I like sweet!)--without any depth of flavor you expect in a buttercream. I added more confectionary sugar to make it less runny but that made it even sweeter, of course. I tried some extra vanilla but in the end, it could not be saved. My children really liked it but they also think straight sugar is delicious, so they aren't the best judges of flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The recipe was good, but the vanilla as
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Wangler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was my first attempt at homemade icing and it was perfect! I followed the recipe without changes and it was very easy to use for frosting and decorating-- and it was also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I've made this several times with just a few modifications that suit me. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is the same recipe that is on the Domino powder sugar box but you use unsalted butter my mom made this for years and so do I it is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Loved the thickness of this recipe! Really sweet, perfect for a cake. I added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon for extra taste. Followed the recipe carefully with a little extra vanilla. If you were to compare this butter cream with the store junk....this would win by FAR! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
The icing came out very watery so I had to add more confectioners sugar to thicken it up so the taste was overwhelmingly sweet for me and it wasn't this nice white as the pictures show I guess I'd have to use like a clear color vanilla extract. So I only ended up using it as a crumb coat cover and made a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Excellent after I added a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Too much vanilla. Aweful sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States