Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was a cake decorator during college and this icing was no where near the thickenss it needs to be. It was too runny, doesn't stand up well for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Best icing recipe I have found. Everybody raves about it. It makes an incredible chocolate icing when you add cocoa powder. The recipe doesn't make a lot, so you may need to double or triple, depending on how much you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this for the middle layer of a layer cake I was making and I followed the recipe to the T. It taste really yummy and made the perfect amount that I needed. So if you are needing to frost a lot then I would adjust the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Let me add my 5 star recipe to all the others. This is perfect flavor, consistency for piping, and so smooth. Thank you for posting your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Perfect....freezes like a dream and comes back to buttery goodness in just a few minutes left at room temperature. When I'm done frosting my cake with several different colors of this I put them all in a pastry bag and make tie-dyed cupcakes...nothing goes to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was really way too sweet for me. This recipes makes 8 servings, but I was able to frost 24 cupcakes with it and still have some left over. I couldn't put much on the cupcakes - just too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Too sweet and too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oatman99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I've made several versions of frostings over the years, including this one. This amount will frost 12 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is the best buttercream I've ever tasted. My recipe is close, but the extra vanilla puts it well over the top. I used salted butter, and added a little pinch of salt which I think helps balance out the flavors a bit. Amazing texture, perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Absolutely perfect! Fluffy, delicious, crazy easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States