Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Absolutely perfect! Fluffy, delicious, crazy easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made this tonight and my picky family thought it was the best yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is delicious and the texture is fluffy. It does not leave a gross coating in your mouth, unlike the frosting recipes that use shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was by far the best frosting I have ever had!! Let me start by saying I am not a cake or frosting maker this was my first go at this type of frosting. I ended up tripling the recipe because other reviews said one batch barely covered a batch of cupcakes. That is so not true! I generously frosted two nine inch cakes (stacked) and one 9x13 pan and still had leftovers. I think what may have yielded a much fluffier frosting was leaving the stand mixer run for longer (I had a distraction). I brought them over to my in-laws for a party and EVERYONE was in love with this frosting. It is sweet and rich but it really made a cake from a box (Pillsbury) taste like it was from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was lovely, quick and easy. I left the milk out in order to have a stiffer frosting. Worked beautifully for piping. I made 1.5 times this recipe -- 3 cups sugar, 3/4 cup butter. It was JUST enough to cover 2 layers of a 9-inch round cake, with a tiny bit left over for piping. If you're doing a lot of piping (multiple colors, etc.), you might want to make a double batch. Definitely keeping this one for future cake-baking; no more store-bought frosting for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
5-STAR FROSTING!!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Easy and worked great for my 1st real decorating project. It tastes good too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have made this several times and I've been happy. Yesterday hubby bought margarine instead of butter so I had to go with it. Runny goopy mess! *You must use butter on this* or it will separate and if you put it on cake/cupcakes it will just run off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Smith Johns

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Tasted great, but it was impossible to use for piping. If you add any food coloring, it becomes really runny and just slides right off the cake. I added almost 2 cups of confectioners sugar in addition to what the recipe called for to try and thicken it up, and I still wound up scraping it all off the cake and starting over with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States