Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Thought the frosting flavor was good but hubby and I thought it was too sweet. I ended up frosting 24 cupcakes lightly with this recipe. Also the consistency wasn't very stiff for me to spread on the cupcakes. Will probably use a different frosting recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calera, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Perfect! I made a batch of this to use for cake pops but found myself sampling it a few extra times... yum! I used vanilla bean and I loved how pretty and speckled this was! I don't know how far this would go for icing a cake, but it worked perfectly for 24cupcakes worth of cake pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellent buttercream! Sweet but not overpowering, rich and creamy. Great base for any flavor you'd like. Defintitely double if you're frosting a double layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I was looking for an easy buttercream recipe & this did the trick. Easy to add different flavor extracts to make different flavored frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Terrific! Will never use canned again. This is easy and delicious. I did use salted butter because it is all I had in the house. It still tasted great. I creamed the butter and then added the powdered sugar and vanilla. I used a bit extra vanilla. Then after everything was mixed I added milk to get it to the consistency I wanted. Ended up using very little milk. I doubled the recipe and only used 1 tablespoon. Partly because of the extra vanilla I am sure and I wanted it a little stiffer. The recipe doubled allowed me to frost my 9 x 13 cake and have extra to pipe with. This frosting was excellent for piping! Definitely recommend. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was very easy to make! Definitely double the recipe as it didn't make a lot. Used it for Karin's 40th birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
was too runny when i added 2 tablespoons of milk.i had to fix it by adding more sugar.next time i will just add less milk.tastes very good though =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is the same recipe that I have been using for 50 + years from my mother's Betty Crocker cookbook. When I want chocolate frosting I just add cocoa powder. I have never tried using it as my decorator frosting but now that I know other's have used it for decorating, I will try it. It's a lot easier to remember how to make this than regular decorator frosting using Crisco (which I don't keep around any more.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetTooth
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This icing was pretty good. I used it on snickerdoodle cupcakes and threw in (a little too much) cinnamon sugar and it was very light but very sweet(probably due to the cinnamon sugar). Next time I will mix mine more and use a little less milk because it was not as fluffy as I had liked. I love that it uses all butter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mocrosby
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is my favorite buttercream frosting. It's simple to make and never fails. I follow the recipe exactly except I sometimes add a little extra vanilla or sugar. I most recently used this to frost Red Velvet Cupcakes from this site (the recipe that uses instant chocolate pudding) and it was perfect for piping on the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocrosby

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States