Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Best ever! To die for! Don't change a thing. Double the recipe for two 9" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very good! I add 1-2 tbsp of cream cheese, not really enough to taste like a cream cheese icing, just enough to add to the creaminess. I used a little extra milk to make it almost a drizzle consistency for cinnamon rolls. Recipe is also delicious as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This frosting holds up well and is really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I'm sorry but this is not a good buttercream recipe. I agree it makes a small amount but who cares, that makes it easier to customize how much you need by multiplying it. I doubled it and it covered 18 cupcakes. However there is too much vanilla and it overpowers the flavor and there is not enough sugar so all you can taste is butter. Typically i never add as much sugar as a buttercream recipe calls for so it isn't that i prefer extra sweet. I think all the ingredients are correct, but in the wrong quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I mixed in brown food coloring and it separated and looked terrible. So I tried a bunch of fixes I found online and none of them worked, just made everything worse. Next time: after beating butter add in liquid ingredients first, if that doesn't work then I'm not trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
When I made this buttercream I doubled the recipe and it came out a little grainy, but added more powdered sugar and beat it a bit more and it was delicious! Everyone loved it and I could pipe it easily. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I've made many great buttercream recipes and thought Wow! this one looks quick and easy. It was so well reviewed, I decided to try it. When I followed the recipe exactly, it was too runny and way too sweet (and I like sweet!)--without any depth of flavor you expect in a buttercream. I added more confectionary sugar to make it less runny but that made it even sweeter, of course. I tried some extra vanilla but in the end, it could not be saved. My children really liked it but they also think straight sugar is delicious, so they aren't the best judges of flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This frosting was delicious, however the vanilla taste was a little overpowering, also I would recommend making larger measurements, since most bakers make cupcakes in batches of twelve or higher. Great recipe though. I enjoyed it! HANNAHWANGLER:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Wangler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was my first attempt at homemade icing and it was perfect! I followed the recipe without changes and it was very easy to use for frosting and decorating-- and it was also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States