Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is the same recipe that is on the Domino powder sugar box but you use unsalted butter my mom made this for years and so do I it is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Loved the thickness of this recipe! Really sweet, perfect for a cake. I added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon for extra taste. Followed the recipe carefully with a little extra vanilla. If you were to compare this butter cream with the store junk....this would win by FAR! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
The icing came out very watery so I had to add more confectioners sugar to thicken it up so the taste was overwhelmingly sweet for me and it wasn't this nice white as the pictures show I guess I'd have to use like a clear color vanilla extract. So I only ended up using it as a crumb coat cover and made a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Excellent after I added a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Too much vanilla. Aweful sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
way too buttery. I cut the sugar a lot and added a lot of milk. No one liked the way it tasted way too much butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great recipe...followed it exactly except I left out one tablespoon of milk because I wanted it a little stiffer for piping..tasted amazing and held it's form well..don't ever use store bought icing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was a great recipe for a fluffier, creamy buttercream. It does, however, need salt. Most buttercreams call for some salt and this was too sweet without it. I multiplied this recipe 6.5 times for 55 cupcakes (had lots leftover) and added about 1 tsp of salt and cut the milk in half. It had a great flavor and was the right consistency for piping cupcakes. I did put them in the fridge to set a bit before serving as it was a bit soft. There were lots of compliments and most people ate more than one. Will definitely use again. Will probably add food coloring before milk, and may use a little less milk than I did, for a slightly thicker result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I love it my kids keep asking for me more.It was so creamy and fluffy. It looks like they only want the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I used whipping cream instead of milk but otherwise followed the directions. It was great! A light icing that was great on white cake. And easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States