Quick Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made this for my husband, he rated it against The Olive Garden which he refers to as the "gold standard" for alfredo. I'm sure he would have rated this higher if I had used Half 'N Half but I used 1% milk because that is what we had in the fridge. Because I had to use 1% I used 2/3 cup Parmesan cheese. I also used Garlic lover's garlic seasoning instead of parsley flakes and fresh garlic because I didn't have garlic on hand. Overall 4/5 on my husband's scale is really good! I would have eaten it too if I wasn't allergic to gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
As written, it's a good base recipe, but it was very bland and way too thick. I debated between 3 and 4 stars, but when I made it a second time I had to change it so much it wasn't the same recipe so it's a 3 star. Recommend reducing the flour, add extra garlic, pepper, maybe some basil over the top and more cheese. I used skim milk the second time and it helped thin it out to alfredo consistency (and reduced the fat) or add pasta water if it's still too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Wow, I never knew alfredo sauce could be so easy. The sauce my mom usually makes is very time consuming. This was very good and I would definitely use again, especially when I need something quick. I doubled the recipe and followed everything exactly,but I used part half&half and part milk. The sauce ended up SO thick!! I ended up adding like an extra 3 or 4 cups of milk, maybe more. Even after that my mom kept telling me I should add more milk. So I don't know what I did wrong there. It could be I just measured something wrong. Oh well, it still turned out great. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe as directed. I sauce became really thick. Next time, I'll put in a little more milk. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Simple and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
excellent sauce, my friends loved it !! except i did follow a reviewers advice and switched the half and half for 1-1/2 of milk .. overall delicious !! Thank You :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I love the idea of a 160 calorie alfredo sauce. So this was something I absolutely had to try. The butter and flour combo does a great job of thickening up the alfredo since there is no cream cheese in this recipe. However, it really does too good a job. My first try on this gave me the impression that I should put the alfredo on a chicken fried steak or some chicken nuggets. This had too much of a gravy consistency for me. I halved the butter and flour but kept the same amount of half & half. I used a whole bag of World Classics grated parmesan cheese in it. For more flavor, I used (in lieu of the minced garlic) about 1 t garlic powder, 2 T basil, 1 t parsley, 1 T oregano, some kosher salt, and some pepper. (I'm just guessing on the amounts. I really just eye-balled it and gave it a taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
WOW!! I didn't expect this to be this good! The flavor is mildly garlicky (is that a word?)with a smooth cheesiness (another made up word!). It thickens enough that you can let it sit a while and add some more liquid before serving. Like I said, unexpectedly good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe for a quick meal. I used light cream and a litt bit of whipping cream. I cut the garlic in half and used lots of coursely ground pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very good sauce. I also added a tsp. of salt, otherwise it was very yummy! Easy & good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howe, Indiana, USA
Living In: East Grand Forks, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States