Quiche (Southern Egg Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I made a couple of changes. I used 1 cup heavy cream instead of 1/2 cup each of the ranch dressing and milk. I also added chopped green pepper with the onion and used 5 eggs instead of 4. Baked at 425 for 15 minutes then at 350 for 30. I then covered it with foil to keep it from getting too brown and baked for another 10 minutes. Very good - will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was easy enough to throw together and the flavor was good but the ranch dressing was a little too strong for us. I was surprised how light and fluffy this came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Following the recipe (minus the ranch dressing), it turned out to be good; very flavorful and rich, certainly. However, it was not an egg pie so much as cheese pie. We couldn't taste the egg at all in it, only the sausage and cheese. We also found that cooking it at 450 for twenty minutes was sufficient baking time for both the filling and the crust. We will make this again, with some modifications: cut the cheese in half, add two eggs, and bake for only 20 minutes (intentionally).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Quite good, easy, and as healthy or unhealthy as you want to make it! I didn't have Ranch dressing so used sour cream instead. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasnob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was a great base recipe. Though I did make some changes to this.. It really wasn't so Southern. Instead of the sausage I used bacon and cooked the same way as instructed. I added about 1/2 cup of Spinach to the egg mixture and took out the Ranch and put Cream instead. I forgot to add the sugar, pepper, and salt but that ended up being alright. The pepper would have been nice but Im glad I didn't put in the salt. The bacon gave it the right amount. Also I decided not to add hot pepper sauce I'm not a fan of the flavor. Seems like a lot of changes but it was so good!! It's on my list of to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is my first quiche. I found it easy to make and my family all enjoyed it. I doubled the ingredients to make two. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to add an extra egg and only used 1/2 cup of milk. I used a little less cheese than asked for also. I baked it at the higher temp for 20 minutes and then 40 minutes at the lower temp. They turned out really great. I will be making this recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My 3 1/2 year old twins LOVE this. I make it every weekend. Got one in the oven right now. Thanks. I Butter the pie dish before I put the crust in. Adds a little awesomeness to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Fantastic Recipe! Super easy and delish. I didn't add the hot sauce or the additional salt and pepper and it was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
The quiche was really good, even though I modified it a little bit. I added bell pepper to the onions and sausage and left out the milk as some reviewers had mentioned that the pie was a little runny. It turned out perfect, especially as I leaving out the milk reduced the baking time to about 35min at high temperature. I definetely will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I was a little skeptical as I mixed the salad dressing into my eggs, but this unusual mix was a delicous surprise!!! My husband had 2nds and 3rds, and it made enough for breakfast in the morning! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everydaycook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States