Quiche Lorraine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PrincessJenna
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I use a frozen deep dish pie crust. Flash bake it for 10 minutes at 350. Add an additional egg and use 1 cup half and half. Sauteed a minced clove of garlic with the onion. Add salt, pepper and a little thyme. 8 slices bacon. I've tried it with Swiss and Cheddar and both are good. Cook at 350 until set and a little brown and knife comes out clean. Fanstastic!! Reheats really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
The filling for this recipe is delicious. However, 450 degrees is way too high a temperature in which to pre-bake the crust. The edges burn. The second time I made this recipe, I pre-baked the crust at 350 degrees and had a much better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I love this recipe and made a large batch to sell in my church's coffee shop. I followed this recipe, for the most part,with the exception of increasing the eggs to 6 and adding another 1/2 cup of milk. I used a combination of 1 lb sage Jimmy Dean Sausage and 4 slices crumbled bacon. I also added a light sprinkling of Garlic salt along with the 1/4 tsp. salt and I used 2 cups of mild cheddar and some left over colby/cheddar mix. I did toss the cheese in 1 TBS flour.I used a large 9x12 commercial pan and used the "No Roll Pie Crust II" from this site, doubling the dough to fit the pan. This was the first item sold out at the coffee shop and I only made one pan. I have made this Quiche as stated with outstanding results. This is also a good recipe to add your own goodies and flair! I prepared it the night before, pre-baked the pie crust at 450 for 8 minutes, poured in the mixture and then refrigerated until morning. With the oven at 350 I baked it for 35 minutes then I topped off with more cheese and crumbled bacon for 5 minutes. It was perfect! Try different cheeses and do not be afraid to experiment. This recipe is foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYINABASKET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I used a pre-made crust, used 4 eggs and only 1 cup half and half, and used cheddar because I didn't have swiss. I upped the temperature to 375, as other people had suggested, and it cooked in about 45 minutes. It was great! Everybody loved it. I would recommend putting the pie plate on a cookie sheet when you put it in the oven so if it overflows a little the mess is easier to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Great recipe... but if you are using a frozen crust already in a pie pan, make sure you get the deep dish crust. This recipe made WAY too much filling for a average size crust. Yummy quiche though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenFromJax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I, too, made suggested moderations of using more bacon, 4 eggs, and instead of milk, I used 1 1/4 cups of half and half. It came out perfect. This was the first quiche I have made and it won rave reviews from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made 2 different quiche's from this recipe: one bacon and cheese and the other was a spinach and mushroom (and cheese). I didn't use swiss cheese, i used colby jack (for both) and instead of using 3 eggs, I used 5. I also used skim milk. I cooked the bacon first and then set aside the bacon grease; used some of it to cook the onions and then the spinach and mushroom as well- that really adds a great flavor to it! i took it to a baby shower and it got rave reviews! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was so YUMMY - a big hit at my Mother's Day brunch. I made alterations based on other commentors. I added 4 eggs, used 1 1/4 half and half, and 8 slices of bacon (love bacon!) and used a Vidalia onion which added a slightly sweet flavor to the quiche. Next time I'll go back to 3 eggs and use 1 cup of half and half because it was too much for my 9-inch store-bought pie crust. Can't wait to make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADESTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Excellent! Impressive and pretty darn easy to make! At 325, though, 40 minutes was NOT enough time baking. I increased temp to 350 after the 40, then 375 cuz i couldn't wait anymore... about 1hr15min baking time for it to set. So next time, I'll start at 350. Delicious! Thanks Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Very easy recipe to follow. After reading a couple of reviews, I made a few changes:baked the pastry at 350 degrees F, 4 eggs & 1 cup of milk & 2 cups of cheese - 1 cup old cheddar plus 1 cup of aged gruyere. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States