Quiche Lorraine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
A nice basic quiche recipe which would no doubt work well as written, but like others, I followed suggestions to use four eggs and a cup of half and half instead of the milk. Also, I chopped and fried up turkey smoked sausage in lieu of bacon and also added in a three or four good shakes of italian herb seasoning. I would say next time I will go with 2 cups of swiss cheese as well. I went with the frozen pie crust and prebaked it by package instructions, taking care to cover the edge with tin foil before baking and while baking the quiche itself. I went with 350 for the baking, but I will say that ovens vary, so I like to start checking the pie at least 10 minutes before it is supposed to finish and go by appearance. Really, this is one of those recipes that can be changed in many little ways and still work out well, but do consider adding the herb seasoning if you have some. They go very well with eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Fantastic! I made it for a shower and it was great. Everyone loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The recipe needs to state up front that you will need deep dish pie crusts or you will waste precious and expensive ingredients like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Pretty good but the crust got a bit soggy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Every one of us had "seconds". I used vidalia onion and did add some garlic while the onions softened. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Good, easy recipe. I didn't have Swiss so substituted Sharp Cheddar and it was delicious. Also, the cheese I had was already shredded so there was no need to add the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Where's the green stuff that's in the photo??? I made this according to recipe but with 1 extra egg and a package of thawed/drained/chopped spinach. As others have noted, use your math to determine how much milk/egg is needed for your dish size. I used a deep dish and a ready-made crust and had room for an extra egg plus the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
no
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was just ok -- rather bland. Also, I didn't appreciate the flavour of the sweetness of my store-bought pie crust with the savouriness of the filling. I used 4 small eggs and 1 cup of milk, and this made the perfect amount to fill the deep dish pie crust nicely, with no spillovers. I prebaked the crust at 350 for 10 minutes, covered with aluminum foil. 45 minutes at 375 degrees after filling the pie, as others suggested, yielded the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Too much milk and baking times were way too high. I added quartered artichoke hearts to mine and it was amazing! Will make again - with less milk and lower temps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States