Quiche Lorraine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by marlakay
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Easy and delicious! This is the first time I've made quiche and was crossing my fingers that it would turn out, and my family would like it because what a fun addition to our meal menus. Of six children, all had seconds except for the 6 year old twins. The only thing that kept me from giving this 5 stars was the crust was a bit soggy. Maybe the onions need to be cooked down more? Maybe skim milk isn't the way to go? Maybe the crust needs to be prebaked longer? Not sure, but I will be experimenting to see if I can find the solution. Also, I based on other reviews, I did increase the baking temp to 350* and they were done in about 50 minutes. Other than those minor issues, a VERY tasty dish that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This recipe was very good, but there was too much filling for the pie crust. I would cut back on the cheese and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Yummy! I made mine with almond flour crust to go low-carb, and I added spinach. Perfect! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Yet again, another winner from AR! This recipe is excellent as is, but I was trying to use up an abundance of spinach from the garden so I add a couple of handfuls, chopped. Also, I didn't have swiss cheese so I used cheddar (which I know is quiche sacrilege, but it worked.) I was concerned that there weren't enough eggs, but this cooked perfectly and I will be skeptical of recipes that use more than this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Great recipe. Classic Quiche Lorraine is even simpler -- no cheese, no onion. Just bacon in the custard, pepper, salt, and nutmeg or mace. But what makes Quiche so handy is the scope for improvisation: use grated or shredded Gruyere, Swiss, Parmesan, Romano, Cheddar, Provolone... substitute ham for the bacon, or pepperoni, or sausage; make it lean (lowfat milk) or decadent (heavy cream) or in-between (whole milk or half-and-half): it always seems to be in the ratio of one egg to a half cup liquid. Use onions, leeks, shallots, scallions, chives. Prebake the crusts first brushing with a glaze (one yolk, a teaspoon water, & a half teaspoon powdered chicken bouillon. Remember to have a cookie sheet on the rack below... believe me! Serve with a nice white wine... a Chardonnay or Gewuertztraminer, depending on ingredients. Although the classic simple S&P and nutmeg/mace is always great, you could also add savory, sage, basil, marjoram, chervil or finely minced celery leaves. Chopped cooked spinach is excellent, as are broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes (peeled, seeded & dejuiced), peppers, mushrooms (shiitakes, porcini, chanterelles, oyster mushrooms -- especially prepared as Duxelles), even olives. And in place of ham, bacon or sausage one can use crabmeat, shrimp, lobster meat... In short, one is limited only by imagination, availability of ingredients, and one's budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Love this recipe! It does not last long in my house so I make two at a time. Also I omit bacon sometimes for a package of thawed/ drained chopped spinach to make Quiche Florentine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made 2 different quiche's from this recipe: one bacon and cheese and the other was a spinach and mushroom (and cheese). I didn't use swiss cheese, i used colby jack (for both) and instead of using 3 eggs, I used 5. I also used skim milk. I cooked the bacon first and then set aside the bacon grease; used some of it to cook the onions and then the spinach and mushroom as well- that really adds a great flavor to it! i took it to a baby shower and it got rave reviews! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This tasted great and had the consistency I like in quiche. I made it without a crust, and I used 3/4 cup whipping cream and 3/4 cup 1% milk, but otherwise made as directed. My only beef is it took a lot longer than 40 minutes to cook. Mine took 1 hour 10 minutes at 325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I used 4 eggs and 1/2 cup whole milk. Even the kid who normally won't eat anything egg loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have been making this quiche recipe for several years now. I usually buy a good deep dish pie crust instead of making my own, and it tastes absolutely wonderful. About a year ago I started using egg substitute to cut down on the calories, and my husband and kids couldn't tell the difference. I usually make two at a time and it is always gone fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States