Queso Fundido Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Ok, I LOVE fundido, but I am not a fan of this recipe. Don't like the picante, olives or cheese choice. Here's what I suggest for a restaurant quality dish: Cook chorizo over med heat until most of the grease has cooked off (about 10-15 minutes). Drain and return to pan, increasing heat to med high. Cook until about 1/2 the meat is charred (about 5 minutes). Shred 8 oz Chihuahua cheese with jalapeno, 4 oz reg Chihuahua cheese, and 2 oz Cojita cheese in Cuisinart - blend together. Spray 8x8 baking dish with cooking spray. Layer 1/2 of cheese, then charred chirizo, then top with remaining 1/2 of cheese blend. Cook at 325 for 15 minutes, until cheese is mostly melted. Stir around and broil for an additional 5 minutes, until top is bubbly. Serve with warmed tortillas, tortilla chips or as a savory topping to chicken. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Comiskey-Hill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Like other reviewers, I was expecting more of a restaurant-style queso fundido. This was a meat dip, which in that sense in not bad, just not what I expected from the name. We ended up adding 1 lb. velveeta to give it something other than meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend (I dont eat meat). He feels it was good, but next time I do make it I will add PLENTY more cheese. Also, I made the dish half picante sauce and the other I left without (he ate the side without). Unless you really like your fundido spicy omit the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I don't know that I would consider this queso fundido, which I've always thought of as more of a fondue type dip, but it's very good. I made it for our first Sunday football watching party and it was a big hit. I seasoned the ground beef with a little garlic salt while it cooked, and used chicken chorizo from Trader Joe's (less fat and all of the flavor). This turned out like a layered dip. I think I'll add more cheese next time and mix everything up. Really though, a great alternative to bringing a seven layer bean dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
used this recipe,served it,ate it and came back for seconds. its awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This is absolutely fabulous. I loved, loved, loved it. Great accompainment to Frito scoops. Next time I'm gonna try it over cornbread. Sublime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
The only one who got fed tonight was my garbage disposal. This was so nasty. The picante was was the worst combination with it, also perhaps queso blanco and some cream cheese. I'm going to toy around and see if I can offer up a better alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States