Queso Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I changed quite a bit in this recipe as I did not have any cornstarch or sour cream. I did the Tb butter, a little less than 1/2 cup ranch dressing, 1/2 cup milk, and 1 1/2 Tbs of flour as a substitute suggestion for the cornstarch I got from a book. I mixed this and cooked it on low/med-low until hot and bubbly. Added 1 1/2 cups cheese and 1/4 cup hot salsa. It was DELICIOUS!!!!!! Great with my chips and beans! YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
It is a very good dip with modifications. To make it a smoother consistancy I used Velveeta. This allowed me to cut out the butter and corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Thank you for a delicious recipe. I have searched forever for a good queso dip... and this is it. I did not have cornstarch, so I melted the butter then added sour cream, at this point I also added about 3 oz of cream cheese, when adding cheddar I also added some pepper jack cheese. I used a twice the salsa called for and also some bottled hot sauce (louisiana type). This was VERY GOOD! Thank you again poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
This is the best queso dip I have EVER tried!!!!!! It is better then any restaurant dip I have ever had too!! You have to try it!!! YUMMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is SOOOO good! I made it for a Superbowl party and couldn't stop eating it! I wanted something without processed cheese and this was so easy to make! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Excellent and simple. Once you've figured out how easy cheese sauce is with real cheese, you'll never use velveeta again. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Not a huge fan of this recipe - it came out very "fluffy" and didn't taste very cheesy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was very delicious. For smooth results, I added a few tablespoons of cheese at a time and whisked constantly. I didn't have salsa so I improvised with an equal amount of chopped red onion and sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Very good...I did use 1/2 sharp cheddar and the other 1/2 was velvetta to get a smoother consistency. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
Mine came out sort of lumpy. It wasn't smooth like I expected of a queso. I used sharp cheese and homemade salsa (added 2 extra tablespoons). I also added some hot sauce to give it a bit more zip. I might try it again but I would need to play with it to make it a bit smoother in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States