Queso Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Awesome recipe and I appreciate the fact that it doesn't ask for processed cheese. I used flour instead of cornstarch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I found this recipe to be a good jumping point for the queso I wanted to make. I used a tex-mex cheese blend (and about twice the amount prescribed by the recipe)instead of cheddar, for a spicier flavor. As well, I used flour in substitution for cornstarch and twice the salsa. All in all, not quite as spicy as I would have liked, but I will definitely use this as a base and experiment with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was just ok. I added about 5 times the salsa called for and it was still pretty bland, so added hot sauce, this still didn't do much, so it's good if you don't like a lot of heat, but didn't satisfy me or my family. Also, I took it to a New Year's Eve party, by the time I got it to the party it had a hard layer on top and when I reheated it, it just got glumpy, maybe Velveeta is the way to go or maybe no cornstarch, I'm not really sure why that was needed. I may use this as a starting point again, but I'll definitely change it. It ended up getting thrown out at the end of the night after hardly being touched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Really really yummy. Not nearly as good the next day, best right off the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Pretty good - after I made a few changes. I used flour in place of the cornstarch (didn't have any on hand), added a bit of garlic when I added the sour cream, and also added about a half cup of Montery Jack cheese and a dash of paprika. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Excellent and simple. Once you've figured out how easy cheese sauce is with real cheese, you'll never use velveeta again. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This cheese dip was wonderful! I used it as one of my dips for southwestern egg rolls and it worked well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
We usually use Velveta but we were out. We had all the ingredients for your dip and were presently surprised with the taste! We did add more salsa than the recipe called for. I would like to think it is healthier than Velveeta too. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Very good...I did use 1/2 sharp cheddar and the other 1/2 was velvetta to get a smoother consistency. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I agree with the person who said it would be good with bread. I think it would be excellent on bruschetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States