Queijadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I was out of sugar at home so I used the new Splenda blend baking sugar (1 cup) instead of 2 cup of sugar, fat free milk and added about 1/2 tsp of lime juice. It turned out awsome, very crispy on the outside and custard texture on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Yum...and SO easy! Even rated 'very good' from the hubby! Melted some chocolate overtop of a few, but actually preferred without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
We really liked this one. I am not sure what it's supposed to taste like, and since I baked it for an extra 5 minutes, the center was not exactly custard-like. BUT, it reminded me of the Chinese sweet rice cakes that are battered and fried (crusty on the outside, gooey on the inside). Very unexpected, but just in time for Chinese New Year! Definitely tastes better fresh out of the oven. I cut the recipe in 1/3 and made six at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
OH MY GOD. I love these. Whenever Scotty makes em for us here at the office, I just can't help myself... I like mine served warm with fresh sliced strwberries on top. Seriously deeeeelicious! Note: Be careful not to overcook em. WARNING: These are not really "cakes"... more like a crispy shelled baked custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I really liked this recipe. It was very easy to make and all the ingredients were on hand. I don't know why others didn't like it. I actually didn't even know what these were or how they are suppose to look when they come out. But it was tasty and not burnt. They are like little patties. They have a cake type texture outside but creamy inside, like a custurd. I did take the advice of another reviewer and sprayed the pan with nonstick spray, also I added a little orange zest to the blender. Everything tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WENDALYNN
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Perfect, I have been looking for the right recipe for Queijadinhas (as I knew them in Brazil) for ages and accidentally stumbled on this one. This is the best recipe for these I have found, just like I remember. For the naysayers...they are supposed to fall down in the middle, more of a custard tart than a cake. They do stick, but not if you use plenty of Pam and let them cool before removing. If you get hockey pucks, try filling the cups more...you should get only 18 from this recipe, if you get more, you are not filling your pan enough. Put the zest of 1 lemon in, or try some coconut instead, I've never had these plain like the recipe says, lemon or coconut make perfect compliments. I guess these are not for everyone, but anyone who doesn't like this recipe must not have any clue how these are supposed to be, these are just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
tried over and over again, always same results, cakes fall in on themselves and are inedible. did exactly as instructed. very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Way too sweet. Will cut back to 1 1/4 or 1 1/2c. sugar next time. Used lemon extract and a pinch of lemon peel. The boys ate them up in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mn78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
These turned out great! They are super easy to make and they taste so good. I used 1% milk and they turned out fine. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
for some reason, cooked in 45 min turned out burnt and hard...what happened to custard centre?it was rubber. Was it the type of tin (cupcake tin)? Too hot/cold? disaster....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States