Queijadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
These were a fun little treat. I was curious about the recipe, so I decided to make it. It is like a little custard surrounded by a chewy crust. They're pretty yummy, but I'm not crazy about them. I topped with Lemon Sauce from this site. I used a mix of whole and 1% milk and cut back on the sugar by 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This were delightful little snacks. I followed the recipe exactly and took the advice of some other posters and I sprayed my nonstick muffin pan just to make sure they didn't stick. Those little Queijadas came out beautifully. The whole family liked them. Next time, I will try them with a little lemon zest or cinnamon. Thanks for a different and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
this is very easy to make. i didn't have any problems removing the 'cakes'. i did a quick wipe with shortening inside the muffin tins. tried 3 with cupcake liners; don't recommend using those! i followed the suggestion of cutting down the sugar by 1/2, and they were still sweet enough for me, and i have a crazy sweet tooth. topped some with coconut as recipe suggested: YUM! sprinkled one with cinnamon: pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Going by what everyone else said these were supposed to be like, mine turned out just like they were supposed to. They had a sweet custard-like middle and a chewy/sticks to your teeth crust on the outside. Once these cooled they actually tasted really TOO sweet, so I think I'd cut down the sugar by at least a half cup next time. Most of mine looked sort of mangled once I managed to cut them out of the pan, so I wouldn't suggest making them for company until you've managed to perfect the art of queijada-extraction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This recipe is perfect. these are just as I remember them--well, perhaps more of a custard than I remember, but amazing tasting. I tried using 'cardboard' muffin cups(waterproof ones- cheap and easy to find in Japan. Not sure elsewhere). they were perfect, as I was able to rip the queijadas right out after cooling. Also recommend adding lemon rind--be generous! Will reduce the sugar next time, as I nearly killed my japanese dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENE LIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Omura, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Delicious and very different! Not the most attractive dessert by itself - but it can be dressed up easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
These were a huge hit! I made them for my 4 year old's snack at school. We had to bring in a snack that started with Q. Not many choices for 4 year olds. These were PERFECT!! I tried them out on my family first and they all raved about them. My BIL even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Very interesting! Super easy to make and the batter looks like it would never turn into a real cake. End result is crispy / spongy on the outside and creamy and sweet on the inside. Different, yummy and easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Followed recipe to a T, but filled pan 4/5, instead of 3/4. Bad idea, don't over fill! I also followed advice of others and greased muffin tins. Didn't work. They were crispy on outside & creamy on inside, but were firmly stuck to pan. Put in fridge and that helped. Also much nicer cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Followed directions and was upset to find that I was unable to get them out of the tray. I sprayed non-stick spray before pouring batter. Didnt' work apparently. They looked excellent cooked and in the tray. Not served. Tasted excellent. Too bad such a tiny dessert has to have so many colories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States