Queijadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
All I can say is WOW! what an easy recipe with little clean-up! I brought these to work without even trying them first, I had fresh strawberries in the fridge and also carmel sauce on hand, I did, half and half and can't tell you which one I liked better! I'm not sure if it will work but I'm going to try using my smaller muffin tins for more of a bite-sized treat! One things for sure, be generous when greasy the tins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasingu2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plainville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These were fabulous! I had no clue what to expect, but since I had all the ingredients on hand, I decided to try them.I reduced the sugar by a little, and I sprayed the pan TONS before baking, so I didn't have any trouble removing them. They are a little chewy on the inside, and a delicious egg custard on the inside. So delicious! And so easy! I will definitely be making these again, very soon. My mom said "These are the best things I've ever tasted!" Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Yummy!!!!! Everyone Loved, cut sugar down to 1-1/2cups. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I disagree with decreasing the sugar. And i have found that if you serve them cold and add a whipped topping and fruit or vannilla pudding they are incredibly good. I got rave reviews from all my dinner guests and they all asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I would like to give this a better rating but to us they tasted a little bland. As for the authenticity I would say that it was not what I was expecting. Maybe different areas of Brazil may have a different variation of this dish, after all it is a very large country. Overall it was good. It just needs a little tweeking to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
These were really good. I made them this morning and brought them into work when they were still hot. I took the advice of other reviewers and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 c. I have a super sweet tooth and it was still plenty sweet. I also sprayed the muffin cups VERY well and then sprinkled some cinnamon sugar in the bottom. They slid right out of the cups. My UPS guy came in and ate four of them. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Deelish!! I made these for a semi-formal dinner party a friend was throwing, and they were the first dessert gone. Not bad for some picky teenage eaters. I took the advice of previous Bakers and cut down the sugar by about 1/2 C, and had the good sense to spray the pans a LOT; even then they put up a minor fight to stay in the tins. I also used Almond Extract, and was complimented on that particular taste. I used mini-muffin tins to make these as well, and had them bake for about 25min instead. They really are great finger-foods. Add a few chopped strawberries to the top when they're ready to serve- it taste great with the almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
These were good, but not what I was hoping for in authenticity. A bit too "eggy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
My husband loved these. Nice and chewy on the outside with a smooth, creamy center. They were a pain to get out of the pan so next time I'll be sure to do a better job greasing the muffin cups. Otherwise, they are a simple, delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I love these. You can do all sorts of things with them. As is, they're wonderful. I've also tried them with shredded unsweetened coconut with coconut milk instead of milk, and they were awesome. One of my favourites was to soak dried dates in the warmed milk and then puree it, making them with brown sugar to make a sticky-toffee-pudding like taste. I've also subbed the flour with 1/2 the amount in cornstarch with good results, and once I made them with whole wheat flour by accident and you couldn't tell texture-wise. Awesome dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States