Queijadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These are absolutely delicious!! I lived in Portugal for a little over a year and ate them in about 1000 different cafes, and this recipe is so authentic! Just FYI, they are supposed to fall a bit in the middle - that is what makes them so perfect for different toppings. They are best on the day made, so you probably want to avoid making them in advance for anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I was out of sugar at home so I used the new Splenda blend baking sugar (1 cup) instead of 2 cup of sugar, fat free milk and added about 1/2 tsp of lime juice. It turned out awsome, very crispy on the outside and custard texture on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I just can't understand the negative reviews for these. I used a nonstick muffin pan to make them and had no problems with sticking. I also tried almond extract instead of vanilla. I can't stop eating them...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
All I can say is WOW! what an easy recipe with little clean-up! I brought these to work without even trying them first, I had fresh strawberries in the fridge and also carmel sauce on hand, I did, half and half and can't tell you which one I liked better! I'm not sure if it will work but I'm going to try using my smaller muffin tins for more of a bite-sized treat! One things for sure, be generous when greasy the tins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasingu2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plainville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
OH MY GOD. I love these. Whenever Scotty makes em for us here at the office, I just can't help myself... I like mine served warm with fresh sliced strwberries on top. Seriously deeeeelicious! Note: Be careful not to overcook em. WARNING: These are not really "cakes"... more like a crispy shelled baked custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Simple and delicious. Kind of like bite-sized German pancakes. Thanks Scotty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
These 'lil things are pretty good. I made them with peaches...I don't think I would have liked it too well without the fruit. They taste much like a custard. I like them better cold than hot, but it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Excellent. I've tried a much more difficult version of queijadas and it came out awful. This one is super super easy and is absolutely delicious. I used 1% milk and it was yummy. I also decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup and didn't miss it. Added some shredded coconut and voila...a quick dessert for any night of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
WOW! A little bit of heaven in my mounth! I actually made mine with fat free milk and they turned out wonderfully. Some, i didn't brown much, and others I made dark brown. In both, the middle was silky vanilla WOWness! Thanks for the recipe. I also make chocolate, caramel and raspberry sauces on the side to serve with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My son had to make a Portuguese dish for school and, of course, he didn't tell me until the last minute. We found this recipe with ingredients we already had and they turned out great. Used less sugar as other reviewers suggested and sprinkled coconut on before baking. That was last night and I just made them again for breakfast. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States