Queijadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
These were a fun little treat. I was curious about the recipe, so I decided to make it. It is like a little custard surrounded by a chewy crust. They're pretty yummy, but I'm not crazy about them. I topped with Lemon Sauce from this site. I used a mix of whole and 1% milk and cut back on the sugar by 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This were delightful little snacks. I followed the recipe exactly and took the advice of some other posters and I sprayed my nonstick muffin pan just to make sure they didn't stick. Those little Queijadas came out beautifully. The whole family liked them. Next time, I will try them with a little lemon zest or cinnamon. Thanks for a different and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
this is very easy to make. i didn't have any problems removing the 'cakes'. i did a quick wipe with shortening inside the muffin tins. tried 3 with cupcake liners; don't recommend using those! i followed the suggestion of cutting down the sugar by 1/2, and they were still sweet enough for me, and i have a crazy sweet tooth. topped some with coconut as recipe suggested: YUM! sprinkled one with cinnamon: pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Going by what everyone else said these were supposed to be like, mine turned out just like they were supposed to. They had a sweet custard-like middle and a chewy/sticks to your teeth crust on the outside. Once these cooled they actually tasted really TOO sweet, so I think I'd cut down the sugar by at least a half cup next time. Most of mine looked sort of mangled once I managed to cut them out of the pan, so I wouldn't suggest making them for company until you've managed to perfect the art of queijada-extraction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This recipe is perfect. these are just as I remember them--well, perhaps more of a custard than I remember, but amazing tasting. I tried using 'cardboard' muffin cups(waterproof ones- cheap and easy to find in Japan. Not sure elsewhere). they were perfect, as I was able to rip the queijadas right out after cooling. Also recommend adding lemon rind--be generous! Will reduce the sugar next time, as I nearly killed my japanese dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENE LIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Omura, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Delicious and very different! Not the most attractive dessert by itself - but it can be dressed up easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
These were a huge hit! I made them for my 4 year old's snack at school. We had to bring in a snack that started with Q. Not many choices for 4 year olds. These were PERFECT!! I tried them out on my family first and they all raved about them. My BIL even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Very interesting! Super easy to make and the batter looks like it would never turn into a real cake. End result is crispy / spongy on the outside and creamy and sweet on the inside. Different, yummy and easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Followed recipe to a T, but filled pan 4/5, instead of 3/4. Bad idea, don't over fill! I also followed advice of others and greased muffin tins. Didn't work. They were crispy on outside & creamy on inside, but were firmly stuck to pan. Put in fridge and that helped. Also much nicer cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Followed directions and was upset to find that I was unable to get them out of the tray. I sprayed non-stick spray before pouring batter. Didnt' work apparently. They looked excellent cooked and in the tray. Not served. Tasted excellent. Too bad such a tiny dessert has to have so many colories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States