Queensland Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
After reading all the reviews I adjusted the recipte... About 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour instead of self rising flour and 1 tablespoon baking powder 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar instead of white sugar 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, some cloves, all spice and dash of ginger 1/2 teaspoon salt About 1/2 cup butter, cut into chunks and cut into dry ingrediants. I mixed the milk and pumpkin together and added to dry ingrediants until just moistened. Work dough together on a floured surface and cut into triangles. Brushed with milk and sprinkled with cinn/sugar mixture. Baked at 375 for 20 minutes. These were light, not sweet but perfect with a warm beverage. Definitely more of a muffin texture than a traditional scone. Basic idea was there, but needed alternate flour and some spice for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I really like this recipe because it gives room to play with flavor. Since there aren't any spices in the recipe, I added a bit of cinnamon, ground ginger, nutmeg, vanilla, and a little extra sugar. They puffed up beautifully and the texture was very nice; moist and fluffy. To avoid baking "hockey pucks" it is important to not excessively knead the dough; only until it holds together! Also, to avoid adding too much flour, I added 2 cups of the flour to the mix and used the remaining 2/3 cup on the board. My batch yielded 8 very big scones. I also baked them for 20 minutes. Overall, the scones are delightful and mildly flavored; they would taste great topped with a savory cheese or a sweet jam. Versatile and delicious. What a scone should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I added cinnamon and nutmeg but they still came out very dull when it comes to flavor. They also were more "bread like" than scones. They need a lot more pumpkin and spice flavor. I added a chocolate drizzle on top which made them a little bit better, but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenaustad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Dough was very difficult to work with, but I made it....I also added cinnamon and ginger to the dough, and served them with sage butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Mine turned out very tough and doughy. The flavor was good, but the texture was not what I was hoping for in a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
not a bad recipe. Definitely needed some spicing up. Added 3 tsp pumpkin spice and 1 tsp ginger. Next time I'll also do a lemon ginger glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayfork, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
A bit dry but I guess a good scone is....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Wonderful consistency and flavor. I added some chopped crystallized ginger, very delicious!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These were more like a heavy bread with very little pumpkin flavouring. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie-Ann Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarrow, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States