Queensland Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I thought these were pretty good. My husband thought they were lacking flavor, so I experimented with sprinkling cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice over them. Might be even better if you mix it in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
These were good and very easy to make! I did add 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (and I might go with even more next time), substituted brown sugar for half the white and sprinkled vanilla sugar on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Thanks for the wonderful recipe! As suggested I added some spices to the dough--cinnamon and ginger--and for fun stirred in some chocolate chips. This would also probably be very good with some candied ginger and/or dried cranberries in the mix. Just the thing for a rainy fall afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Dough is stickly because of the amount of pumpkin puree and is not able to be kneaded or cut into trianges. Do not add too much more flour or when baked the doughiness remains. Consider lowering the amount of pumpkin to 3/4 of a can, adding 1/3 C flour and some spices- the taste is a bit bland. Cinnamon, nutmeg, or pumpkin spice are my suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiea46
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Don't be afraid to jazz this up with pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, or nutmeg. Very good. Altering flour is really not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
These were horrible! Bland, no flavor what-so-ever. They were not scone like at all - we started calling them scakes because they were cake like. Will never be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These turned out really good after a little tweaking. I didn't have a problem with stickiness (I've found that the best scones are a *little* sticky - flour your board and your hands, cut it, and throw it in the oven). I did need to add some flavor. Threw in a little more sugar, nutmeg, cinnamon, and grated lemon zest. Topped with turbinado sugar. My scones took about 20 minutes. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These turned out like pucks. I wouldn't make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
The scones tasted OK but they were a bit hard and flat. I think that you should rub the butter and flour together like in a biscuit recipe to make real Australian pumpkin scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States