Queensland Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
After reading all the reviews I adjusted the recipte... About 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour instead of self rising flour and 1 tablespoon baking powder 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar instead of white sugar 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, some cloves, all spice and dash of ginger 1/2 teaspoon salt About 1/2 cup butter, cut into chunks and cut into dry ingrediants. I mixed the milk and pumpkin together and added to dry ingrediants until just moistened. Work dough together on a floured surface and cut into triangles. Brushed with milk and sprinkled with cinn/sugar mixture. Baked at 375 for 20 minutes. These were light, not sweet but perfect with a warm beverage. Definitely more of a muffin texture than a traditional scone. Basic idea was there, but needed alternate flour and some spice for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I really like this recipe because it gives room to play with flavor. Since there aren't any spices in the recipe, I added a bit of cinnamon, ground ginger, nutmeg, vanilla, and a little extra sugar. They puffed up beautifully and the texture was very nice; moist and fluffy. To avoid baking "hockey pucks" it is important to not excessively knead the dough; only until it holds together! Also, to avoid adding too much flour, I added 2 cups of the flour to the mix and used the remaining 2/3 cup on the board. My batch yielded 8 very big scones. I also baked them for 20 minutes. Overall, the scones are delightful and mildly flavored; they would taste great topped with a savory cheese or a sweet jam. Versatile and delicious. What a scone should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I added cinnamon and nutmeg but they still came out very dull when it comes to flavor. They also were more "bread like" than scones. They need a lot more pumpkin and spice flavor. I added a chocolate drizzle on top which made them a little bit better, but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenaustad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Dough was very difficult to work with, but I made it....I also added cinnamon and ginger to the dough, and served them with sage butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Mine turned out very tough and doughy. The flavor was good, but the texture was not what I was hoping for in a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
not a bad recipe. Definitely needed some spicing up. Added 3 tsp pumpkin spice and 1 tsp ginger. Next time I'll also do a lemon ginger glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayfork, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
A bit dry but I guess a good scone is....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Wonderful consistency and flavor. I added some chopped crystallized ginger, very delicious!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These were more like a heavy bread with very little pumpkin flavouring. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie-Ann Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarrow, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States