Queen Elizabeth Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I've introduced it at the retirement home where I work as a chef. I substituted pecans for walnuts and brown the cake under the salamander - quick and crispy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I made this cake for a couple of potlucks and both time it was a hit! I find the overall quantity a bit skimpy for a 9X13 cake pan so I double the recipe and make a smaller one on the side (adjust cooking time accordingly). I also replaced the cream for a soya base product and it worked just fine. Finally, I added the nuts to the icing mixture at the last minute just before spreading/broiling rather than in the cake batter- makes for a nice crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Awesome! Made this for my mom's birthday and it was a huge hit. It was just as yummy, heated up a bit, the next day. Definitely eat it while it's still warm. Made it exactly but left out the nuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I have been searching for this recipe for years....THANK YOU for sharing. This is the cake we always had at our Irish/Catholic gatherings...baptisms, communions, confirmations, graduations and weddings. LOVE LOVE LOVE this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil leprechaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Delicious, moist, flavorful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Tkalec

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Thanks for posting this recipe! I made it yesterday,using half brown, half white sugar for the cake and everyone loved it (even better the day after, served with a bit of cream according to some).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is a great cake! It's moist and the topping is excellent. Best of all, it's easy to make! I substituted walnuts for pecans and baked it in a 9" round cake pan. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreas84

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a great cake! My grandmother made this for years and now I hmake it for Thanksgiving. Rather than using the topping listed, I make an easy penuche icing. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
One of the best cakes I've ever made. You can make as is, but to make it a bit more adult, I soak the fruit in 3/4 cup of water and 1/4 cup of dark rum, brandy or cognac. Any dried fruit works great, too. I use apricots and dates, dried cranberries or even dried apples. NEVER is any cake left when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Amazing cake! Made it about a year ago, and will make it again for christmas! sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States