Queen Elizabeth Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Have been making this recipe for years as my relatives before me. I find it easier to put the dates, hot water and baking soda in a food processor. Makes the dates finely chopped throughout the cake. Also, original recipe said to boil these ingredients for 1 minute, then slightly cool and add to rest of cake. It's definitely a winner and always a new favourite for anyone who tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Marks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Excellent the best cake. Definetly my favorite and my repertoire forever. Excellent cake to serve visitors. Easy and yummy! Thanks for sharing. Keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Boily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapuskasing, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I've introduced it at the retirement home where I work as a chef. I substituted pecans for walnuts and brown the cake under the salamander - quick and crispy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I made this cake for a couple of potlucks and both time it was a hit! I find the overall quantity a bit skimpy for a 9X13 cake pan so I double the recipe and make a smaller one on the side (adjust cooking time accordingly). I also replaced the cream for a soya base product and it worked just fine. Finally, I added the nuts to the icing mixture at the last minute just before spreading/broiling rather than in the cake batter- makes for a nice crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Awesome! Made this for my mom's birthday and it was a huge hit. It was just as yummy, heated up a bit, the next day. Definitely eat it while it's still warm. Made it exactly but left out the nuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I have been searching for this recipe for years....THANK YOU for sharing. This is the cake we always had at our Irish/Catholic gatherings...baptisms, communions, confirmations, graduations and weddings. LOVE LOVE LOVE this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil leprechaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Delicious, moist, flavorful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Tkalec

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Thanks for posting this recipe! I made it yesterday,using half brown, half white sugar for the cake and everyone loved it (even better the day after, served with a bit of cream according to some).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is a great cake! It's moist and the topping is excellent. Best of all, it's easy to make! I substituted walnuts for pecans and baked it in a 9" round cake pan. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreas84

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a great cake! My grandmother made this for years and now I hmake it for Thanksgiving. Rather than using the topping listed, I make an easy penuche icing. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States