Quebec City Sugar Pie with Thick Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I have been making this pie for years. The person who gave me the recipe called it a brown sugar pie. Whenever I take this pie to a potluck someone always asks for the recipe. We have an annual soup & salad luncheon at church and someone told me they don't care about the soups they come for my brown sugar pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Oh this was soooo decadent. Real vanilla extract is the key to the delicious taste. Mix the sugar, flour and salt very well before adding to the wet ingredients (I used a pastry blender). Remember to add the sugar mixture slowly to the wet, mixing well so that the sugar dissolves. I love the fact that the recipe does not require butter as so many others do. Remember that to get this pie right, you'll need to remove it from the oven as soon as the custard is set. I used the oven directions as directed (10 minutes at 400, 40 minutes at 350) and it was perfect. My mother was Acadian, and her recipe could not match this one. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NB Roy
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Really easy pie to make, it tastes rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
An exceptional recipe for such a traditional pie. The thick cream helps cut the sweetness of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CodyS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eganville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Being from Indiana, we have an affinity for sugar cream pies. While on this web site I came across this version. This is not anything like Mrs. Wicks Sugar cream pie, BUT I would say it is fantastic! This will become one of our family pies for the holidays and we will place it next to the old English crème and Indiana Sugar cream pies. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I grew up in Montreal, Quebec. I have tasted more Tarte au Sucre than I can possibly say... This is by far the best and easiest one. Small pieces though! It's lethally sweet! (and that is a good thing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Tasty pie, though parts of it came out a little too gelatinous in texture. Maybe I should have taken it out of the oven earlier? I also wonder why the recipe calls for 2 eggs + 1 yolk. If I ever make this again, I might save myself the trouble and just use 3 full eggs. I didn't make the thick cream, but the pie is sweet enough on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Being from Quebec, I've tried many sugar pie recipes and this one's definitely a winner! I made the recipe with no changes and my whole family raved about it on New Year's day. My mother, who's French Canadian, and has been making sugar pies all her life asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made this for thanksgiveing and excluded the cream and it was gone almost immediately. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States