Puttanesca I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Made this last night and it was unbelievable. I used a 24 oz. can of crushed tomatoes. Put a whole can of anchovies (drained), capers, and olives in the mini chopper and added that to sauce. In just 30 minutes, the sauce was done and the house smelled like an italian restaurant. My husband couldn't believe I made "homemade" sauce that quickly. This is truly wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Ay yo! This is a great puttanesca sauce!!! Took a break from the usual Sunday gravy and made this...loved it! I made a whole pound of macaroni...so I doubled the recipe. I followed it pretty close except I used two 14.5oz cans of diced tomatoes and and 8oz can of tomato sauce instead of using the sieve, and I used half kalamotta and half greek olives. Those of you who think there is too much olive oil...that's what puttanesca is supposed to be like. It is not supposed to be tomatoey and sweet like marinara. Puttanesca should be bitter and spicy...and that's just what this is. Thanks for an incredible recipe! This one goes into my rotation. And oh yeah, and thanks for the gut...a pound I ate in two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMBOLYA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I made this recipe for a dinner party for 9 people. All of them raved about the sauce. I did not push the tomatoes through a sieve, but left them chopped coarse. Added a few chopped sundried tomatoes, which helped to thicken the sauce a bit. Made a nice addition, but the sauce would have been fine without them. I also scaled back the olive oil a bit. Overall, a keeper of a recipe. I can't wait to serve it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This recipe has become one of my favorite dishes to serve for any occasion. I usually can't stand olives or anchovies, but love them in this. I chop the tomatoes in the food processer rather than pushing them through a seive, and substitute anchovy paste for filets. The ratio of ingredients is pretty flexible, but I wouldn't recommend leaving any ingredients out completely...I made it without the anchovy for a vegetarian friend and the flavor was completely different (good, but nothing like the original). Also, keep in mind that the flavors are strong and will be overpowering if you put too much on your pasta (use half as much as you would if it were a marinara sauce). This may be the reason that so many reviews say that the sauce is too salty or the olive/caper taste is too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Liberty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was delicious! I cut back just a smidge on the oil, used a ~15oz can of petite diced tomatoes (we like it chunky!) instead of fresh, added an extra clove of garlic, and used regular black olives - presliced from a can since that's what I had on hand. Otherwise all ingredients and amounts were left as written. I did add the chopped anchovies to the oil while I sauteed the garlic so they basically "melted" away and just left the flavor. This was so good, I couldn't stop eating it! Even my husband commented on how good it was! (I didn't tell him it had anchovies until after he raved about it. :) I'm usually very sensitive to saltiness but this was fine - not too salty at all. I did rinse the anchovies before using them, so maybe that did it. This will definitely be a regular in our house - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Outstanding! I saw this being made on a cooking show and had to make it since my husband and I LOVE olives, anchovies, and capers. True, the sauce is a bit salty because of these ingredients, but a little sauce goes a long way in flavor! **** UPDATE 3/14/08 ***** I made this with sea bass last night and it was delicious. On foilm I laid down some lemon slices, topped with the fish, then the puttanesca sauce. Fold the foil up to make a pouch and bake at 400 degrees for 18 minutes. The puttanesca sauce compliments the fish. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is as good as it gets, frankly. This is a WONDERFUL pasta dish to have in the weekly rotation. Only made two adjustments: reduced the olive oil to 1/3 cup rather than 1/2 cup (but that's just a personal preference) and to make things easier I simply used two cups of canned Imported Italian Crushed Tomatoes. Oh, and I STRONGLY SUGGEST using a fetucini pasta as it is the perfect size and consistency for absorbing and mopping up this yummy sauce. I would imagine that this would make an excellent dipping sauce with crostini as well as a nice sauce to pour over fish or chicken. Don't hesitate to make this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
This recipe allows you to enjoy a puttanesca that is finer than any we've enjoyed at many top Italian restaurants. Try it with a good Zinfandel for optimum enjoyment. For those that are calorie conscience feel free to cut back on the olive oil. We used 1/8 cup and will use less next time around. We'll enjoy this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This recipe is very flavorful, quick, easy cleanup, and uses ingredients that I keep onhand. For those pitting Greek olives, try pitted Kalamata Olives. I substituted anchovy paste for anchovies - just because I keep the paste onhand, but not anchovies. We'll enjoy this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Excellent sauce and quite quick and easy. I used half pitted black olives and half pimento stuffed green ones and added 1/2 cup white wine. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States