Puttanesca I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was very good, I used anchovy paste instead of the fillets and omitted the olives at my husbands request. Next time I will add some chicken because my hubby couldn't believe there was no meat in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Did not follow recipe exactly, but used all ingredients (different proportions). Did not push chopped tomatoes through a sieve, but added them near the end, just to warm through. Really tasty and will make again! It made for a quick, delicious weekday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent! My husband doesn't like olives but even he couldn't resist this dish...highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The first time I made this I forgot the tomato paste and my family LOVED it. The next time I added the tomato paste and they didn't like it quite as much. The tomato paste gives it a slightly sweet, marinera-like flavor so now I leave it out. I also don't bother with the sieve--I just blend 4 or 5 tomatoes and use that. It's a regular in our house now. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was excellent, in fact, much better than my husband and I expected. I used the whole can of anchovies and served it over linguini...perfect!! I doubled the recipe but did skim oil off the top before serving. I will not double olive oil next time. I am Italian and have never had this dish before. I usually drown my pasta with sauce, but not this dish. It is much better to "just top it" with the sauce. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I didn't like it AT ALL and I am Italian and usually love capers, olives, and all things briny. Not this. Calls for WAY TOO MUCH EVOO, use half like 1/4 cup. Also the sauce recipe will leave you with leftovers, so make extra pasta. Tasted fishy :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I also added sun dried tomatoes. I think I'll use plain olives next time as I thought this tasted a little too much like brine. Not a hit at all with the kids but the adults enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Loved this - really good and spicy, and not hard! I used Pom chopped tomatoes and didn't bother sieving them, just tossed them in, sauce and all; worked out fine. Don't be scared of the olive oil. Makes the finished sauce nice and lush. Next time, I might try adding the whole can of anchovies, so it doesn't go to waste, but all in all - we'll definitely make this again, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Loved it! Doubled the recipe so that we could have left overs the next day. Used a can of crushed tomatoes and a can of diced tomatoes. Used the entire can of anchovies because I love the taste and used 3/4 cup olive oil instead of 1 cup. Perfection! Will definitely make again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
this is a flavorful dish...kids do not like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States