Puttanesca I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Absolutely wonderful. My grandmother made a simpler version of this when we were growing up and this is the first recipe I've tried that came close to the flavor of hers. DO NOT let the anchovies and number of bold flavors intimidate you. You won't even know the anchovies are in there and as long as you like olives, capers, etc. you will enjoy this. It's amazing how the flavors mellow out and just work together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very nice pasta sauce. I waited to try this when bf was out of the house since he's not a fan of capers or olives. I used manzanilla olives stuffed with pimentos since I don't have greek olives, and I left out the anchovies since I don't have any. I added orange bell pepper just to have more veggies--something I'm always striving for. This is really good! I love the tomato flavor and the crispness of the olives and capers--I'd actually probably add more olives and capers next time, I liked it so much! A very hearty meal for lunch, and you don't need much else with it--just a slice of crusty bread to mop it all up. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This pasta dish has become a standby in our house. I usually have all the ingredients on hand, and it's so quick and easy. The only changes I've made are to cut back on the olive oil, and on occasion use canned tomatoes, or just put the fresh in the food processor. Add some chicken or shrimp and we are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Absolutely, amazing sauce! I modify it from time to time but find it to be a wonderful base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Easy, loved it...just what I needed for a pasta dish...the only thing I didn't have were the olives, but I still think it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
absolutely delish! I added some fresh chopped parsley, omitted the tomato paste, and didn't rinse the canned anchovy filets (couldn't find fresh, so bought a tin of it), added some anchovie paste, and didn't chop the olives. Also, I tossed AND fried the pasta in the saucepan. I do regret not chopping the olives, tho; they've such a strong flavor, chopping them up would've spread the pungent flavor throughout every bite, rather than tasting all of that wonderful flavor in every other bit, or so. Absolutely fab though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Great, and easy! I doubled the recipe, used canned diced tomatoes, drained well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KREBECKY
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
My sister made this at her house for dinner, and it was OUTSTANDING! Wouldn't change a thing. Nice and garlicky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I enjoyed this but my husband picked at it. I will make again but only when he isn't going to be eating with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Have seen this demo'd on TV and always wanted to try it. Well, what kept me. So different and has the WOW factor. Everyone loved it. Used anchovy paste, canned chopped tomatoes and green olives. Quite a versatile dish and fun to serve because of the raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States