Puttanesca I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Bernadette Marlene Drobny
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I kinda doubled it.. Here's what I did.. 3/4 C EVOO, 5 Cloves of garlic, 1 28oz can of chopped tomatoes, 3t of anchovy paste, 3 T of tomatoe paste, small jar of capers, 2 cans of black olives chopped in mini chopper, and 3/4 t red pepper flakes. Ahmazing! Def think the anchovy paste is needed... but be sure to NOT get any on your hands!!!!! It smells. Lol.. but is needed to give a more complex flavor. We love this dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I modified this in a few ways: I used a whole tin of anchovies, doubled the red pepper, and used 4 cloves of garlic. I thought it was really good, but a little oily, and still not spicy enough. I think next time I'll go down to 1/3 cup oil, and up to 1 Tbsp red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enterprise, Oregon, USA
Living In: Superior, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is a new regular in our house! Easy, colorful and full of flavor. I took the advice of others and only used 1/4 cup olive oil. I did not want to try and push my tomatoes through a sieve, so I did chop them into a sieve and kind of raked the seeds and juice down through the sieve. Next time I will just cut them, squeeze out the seeds and cook. Try this yummy, rustic dish! Thanks for sharing Pooche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
really good stuff. the flavors blend beautifullly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This pungent, flavorful sauce isn't for the faint-hearted! Put only a small amount on your pasta first to see how much flavor you can stand, and add sauce if you want more punch. It's salty, garlicky, and the punch added by the capers & olives is incredible. Even if you hate anchovies you must include them - you can't taste them by themselves, but they add an important background flavor that's too good to me missed. I cut olive oil to 1/4 cup, may cut further next time. I used 5 HUGE cloves of home-grown hard-neck garlic (yum!) and 20 Kalamata olives. Instead of fresh tomatoes I used a 28 oz can of Italian Plum tomatoes, diced. And I used a generous heaping tsp of red pepper flakes which gave it a nice amount of heat. This made a saucepan full of sauce that I can use for several more meals. I don't understand the call for 8 oz of pasta... for a 4 person recipe?? Someone is a cheapy-pants!! Or there is an error in these instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Love it! I'm usually not a fan of anchovies and I've never had capers, but this dish was fantastic. I used six roma tomatoes that I chopped in my food processor in place of the sieved tomatoes. Made the sauce a little more tomato-y than is probably recommended in the recipe, but it was still delicious. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreanugget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this for the first time last night. I LOVE it!!! Its so easy to make. I did not add the chopped olives because I was already using a Greek EVOO and I don't like an overly strong olive taste on anything I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Easy to make with wonderful bold flavors! My entire family enjoyed the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amboy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
It's tasty n easy. I never really follow the recipes exactly by the measurements and it came out great!!! Fool proof, can't get easier than that when making a quick, easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My family loved it - made it twice in one week. I used two 15 oz cans of petite diced tomatoes, an 8 oz can tomato sauce, green olives stuffed with pimento, black olives, and kalamata olives. Oh, and I use anchovy paste rather than fillets because it's easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States