Puttanesca I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! In fact, I had it 2 nights in a row it was so good, and I rarely ever eat the same thing 2 days in a row. I did some things that decreased prep time and made a few slight changes. First while the oil was heating up, I put grape tomatoes that I had halved in a chopper and pulsed until almost like a sauce. Sautéed the garlic and red pepper flakes in the oil for 1 minute. Then added the tomatoes and cooked for 2 minutes. While that was cooking, I put the pitted Kalamata olives and capers in chopper and pulsed until it was finely chopped. Then I added 1/4 cup of white wine (Pinot Grigio) to the tomatoes and garlic and I let it reduce. Then added in the anchovy paste, tomato paste, olives and capers and let simmer on low for 10 minutes while I was cooking the pasta. I cooked the pasta for 1 minute less than the package directions. Drained the pasta and added to the sauce to absorb the sauce for 1 minute. Then served. The wine is not necessary but adds another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this tonight and it was so delicious. The only thing I did was to add fresh parsley. I think I might make it again tomorrow night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
OMG...delicious..delicious....delicious. Easy, quick and very tasty. Will be making this a lot in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maronj

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
The whole family ate this up! I did eyeball the EVOO (as per reviews stating original recipe was too oily) for somewhere between 1/2 and 1/4 C, as well as putting the 1/2 capers, olives and anchovies in processor for a moment. I added 1/2 capers whole for personal preference :) and probably doubled the amount of capers as well, again personal preference. (love 'em) I did not have fresh tomatoes on hand so used diced caned, drained. Other than that followed recipe, will definitely make again, and again! Thank you Poochie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Great tasting and pretty easy to make. Big hit with the gf. :). She loved it so much that she's made it several times for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is just proper. Have been making putanesca for years using the same ingredients but this recipe has put quantities into perspective eg I was wrong in not using so many olives. As with every past dish, remove pasta 2-3 minutes before desired doneness and let it boil into the sauce pan to absorb the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My Husband and family were amazed with the taste of the pasta the taste was sooo amazing it felt as if we were at an Italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this for the first time yesterday and the sauce got raves. I used the suggestion of the person who sauteed the anchovies with the garlic to kind of melt the anchovies, as my husband hates the taste of fish, and even he loved the sauce. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I put the sauce on spaghetti, but I really think it would be even better on large flat noodles pappardele, which I'm going to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I love puttanesca and this was terrific. Like another reviewer, I also add an extra dash of crushed red pepper because I like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Love it! I added chicken by browning the outsides initially then adding it to the sauce and letting it all cook together. Then I only use about half the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States