Purple Plum Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was a super easy and super delicious recipe. I didn't have four cups of plums, so I used 1 1/2 cups of blueberries to make the four cups of fruit. The topping was crunchy and tasty, and the filling was tasty without being overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe turned out superbly. Using a sugared home made pastry raises the quality of the dish. No changes needed in my opinion. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I was quite disappointed by this pie. In fact, I'd say this is the only pie I've ever made that I haven't been very pleased with. The filling was extremely gooey, and I thought at first that maybe the plums I had used were extra juicy. But I had a small amount of the topping left over which I just put over some sliced peaches and heated up--they were gooey, too! Next time I'll stick to my mom's traditional mix that I usually stir in with fruit pie fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Best combination of pie and cobbler! Easy to make and delicious. I believe it can even be used with other seasonal fruit - Yellow Peach Pie in the oven right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Yum! I took another reviewers advice and did not use the pastry shell (didn't have on on hand). So it was more of a crisp than a pie. I also added 1 cup fresh blueberries that I had on hand. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was amazing and so easy. I made 2 pies but ran out of flour so didnt make the toppin so made a lattice crust of the remaining dough . Was short of plums so added apples .a combination of Plum & apples this was the 1st time had a pie with plums in it. For the 2nd pie i used only pears tasted fantastic.I added vanilla essence as well. Would love to try this recipe with Cherry,Peach,figs etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was awesome! I did eliminate the pastry shell (didn't have it on hand) and used 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar for all sugar mixtures. Loved this! Two of us ate the whole 9x13 pan in one evening! Will be making it again tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
ADD MORE SUGAR! The pie is very tart, despite the fact that I used ripe plums and added more sugar. I used my own pie crust recipe and baked it in a 9" pie plate. I recommend making 1.5 times the filling - I used 6 cups of plum, and it was barely filled the pie plate. Also, no problem keeping the skins on the plums, although I suspect they add to the tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Delicious!! I made this just as the recipe called for, except I used 3 cups of fresh yellow plums and 1 cup of fresh blueberries (that's what I had on hand). I also used brown sugar in the crumb topping instead of regular sugar. It was so delicious! The flavors mixed very well, and my family gobbled up almost the entire pie in one night. We served it warm with vanilla ice cream, but it was also good cold with a dollop of whipped cream the next day. Great recipe, this will definitely be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hokiemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Wonderful recipe for plums that I seem to have an overabundance of every summer. Its a bit tart, maybe add a bit more sugar next time. I made mine in a springform pan. Looks more like a plum tart rather than pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States