Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
LOVE it! My three year old and I are drinking it at this very moment (she's on her second cup). I used the almond vanilla milk and added extra blueberries and a little extra honey because I like sweet things. This one is a keeper! Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
my kids and I loved this. I added greek style, honey vanilla flavored yougurt instead of the honey and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatriciaS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Made this as directed (with no vanilla)…at first. But Hubs found this not very “purple-y,” and also missed the creaminess of similar drinks. So as written, this was only average for him - not a big hit. Once I added more blueberries, some vanilla yogurt and a little milk, however, it was much improved, at least for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Very good! I replaced the OJ with Vanilla soy milk. I went with the optional honey but left out the vanilla extract. Will def. make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I am so happy to see a blueberry/banana smoothie that doesn't involve milk/yogurt! I chose to add applesauce (natural, without sugar kind). I used OJ to help the mix be more fluid, but used less than called for b/c of the applesauce. Definitly not too tangy! I used the optional honey and honestly though it ended up just a tad too sweet - will lessen next time. I had the vanilla on standby in case it needed more flavor, but didn't end up using it. This smoothie is very yummy and also really pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
after reading the comments i decided to replace the orange juice with fat free vanilla yogurt. the thickness of the smoothie proved the necessity of the liquid to me! it was delicious, but as i was cleaning out the blender it had more of a cake batter consistency than smoothie. next time i make it i'm going to use one half yogurt/one half milk to replace the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Too much banana for me. Had to add more blueberries. Will add less banana next time. Love the recipe tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I think that the banana was a little too strong. And there should be more blueberries. Nice try though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was great, not too sweet and not too tart! My two year old drank a cup full and wanted more! I used 1/2 cup orange juice and 1/2 cup soymilk becuase my son can only have soy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
very quick and tasty breakfast for someone on the go. Would also be great with milk. I added flax seed to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States