Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Delicious! I added a little more blueberries because there was alot of bananas. I made it for a school project and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassidytonkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Terrible. When I first tried this recipe (which makes closer to 2 servings than 5) the vanilla extract left a horrible aftertaste in my mouth. I tried it again using yogurt as suggested by other reviewers and I still was not impressed. I can't believe everyone is on here raving about a smoothie made with nothing other than blended yogurt and fruit. I guess they don't realize they're essentially just eating blueberry and banana flavored yogurt and that's not a smoothie in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The orange juice I used was very tart and gave the whole smoothie a tart flavor. Fine by me, but if that isn't something that you like, I would be sure the orange juice had a sweet flavor. I also added about 3 scoops of icecream. That way there was enough for three people and I perfer the thicker texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarShyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very tasty and refreshing! I used milk instead of orange juice, omitted the honey and added a tbsp of vanilla protein powder. Surprisingly, I really liked the vanilla flavor with the blueberries! Will try again with juice next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I substituted blackberries for the blueberries. Only had 1 banana. It came out VERY thick so I added 1/2 cup of plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I love this smoothie. I did make a few changes, but nothing major. I left out the honey and added vanilla soy protien instead of liquid. I also added flax seed. It was really good and leaves a pleasant aftertaste. I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This recipe is excellent as written, although it is actually a "freeze" rather than a smoothie. Great for a hot summer day. I actually tried adding some vanilla yogurt, but that ruined it - next time, no yogurt! (Make sure you peel the bananas before freezing them - it's really hard to get the peel off). I added the 1 Tb honey, but no vanilla needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
used frozen mixed berries and a fresh banana and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a tad bit to sweet so I then added 1/2 cup of yogurt. Perfect! THe taste is outstanding but I do prefer thicker smoothies...but I will continue to make this. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Very good smoothie! I also added a couple Tbsp of plain yogurt. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States