Purple Cow Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I made this for the boys, using Sunkist grape soda and Turkey Hill vanilla bean ice cream. I did not need the additional milk. The boys liked it okay. Both said they didn't like the ice cubes in the smoothie and that it needs more grape soda. I'd make this again but I'd play around with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is great! I have also tried it with grape juice instead of grape soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie3303

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I will not be making this again. Sounds so good but tasted not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I have had this drink for 20yrs but all we did was vanilla ice cream an grape soda.. it was GREAT an now i give it to my kids... (i dont think i would like it as a smoothie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyOf5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I tried this one time and I will not be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My 10yr daughter wanted to make these today.So she did useing Orange Soda but other than that did not change a thing.Very yummy,refreshing & she could make it all by herself(always a good thing).We will make these again & i am sure we will try other flavor's.I myself am thinking of cherry soda would be excellent :) Thnx this is a keeper :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Very quick and easy to make, cheap ingredients, good flavor. What more could you ask for? I always end up adding ice cream to my smoothies anyway, so that was a big plus too. I thought it tasted rather like purple pixie sticks. Not overwhelming, just the right amount of flavor. I'm curious about useing other fuit flavored sodas for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarShyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
While this was good, I wouldn't say great - I guess I was expecting a stronger grape flavor. Next time I will omit the extra vanilla extract added - it really gave a strong vanilla flavor with just a hint of grape, no matter how much grape pop I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
HOLY "COW"! I'd have to say that this has been one of the best tasting beverages I've made in a while! Everything goes together. Like peas and Carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr.Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I love this recipe! In first grade our teacher made purple cow's for us and I LOVED THEM!!!!!!! GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States