Purple Apple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Liked this salad very much. I did add a little bit of vinegar to give it a zing. Also I substituted half the mayo with plain yogurt to lower the fat content. My family liked it and didn't notice the yogurt. I liked the color, it makes an attractive salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMANDEGG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Linda, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Made this recipe several times and keeps coming up a winner. To keep it new with old guests, I added a tablespoon of fresh ground ginger. Surprisingly, nobody could name the taste, but loved the enhanced flavor. We will keep making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
The dressing for this coleslaw is the best! It provides the perfect amount of tartness--something I could never achieve using pickle juice. I made the slaw using green cabbage and only one apple and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I was worried about serving this at a BBQ since it was a little different and had no reviews at the time I made it. I had nothing to worry about though. It got rave reviews from my guests. I enjoyed it as well. I did, however, leave out the onion & added some grated carrot. I am not a fan of raw onion. It still turned out great...and the flavor was good. I may try substituting yogurt next time, like the previous reviewer. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Excellent recipe. Made it for a New Years Eve party and had rave reviews. Like others have said, this slaw was enjoyed by cole slaw fans in addition to those who don't normally like slaw. I made this exactly by the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. There is definitely more prep time than a jar of Marzetti's and a bag of cabbage but it's well worth the time and effort for something different and very tasty that will probably become one of your favorite way to make slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This was really a hit with my family. Gave the recipe to my Mother and she uses it often for family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heavysyrup
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Amazing. Not even a coleslaw fan, and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavysyrup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
We are'nt big fans of slaws; but we LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Clayton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was very good. Everyone enjoyed the taste, and liked it much better than the typical coleslaw. I also thought it was pretty, which was a plus. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This cole slaw was delicious! It's surprisingly not as fruity as I thought it would be, with 2 apples in it. Served it with ham. I made it exactly according to the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States