Purple Apple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
The high ratings caught my eye so I decided to make this for a holiday lunch celebration at work. I made a recipe and 1/2--I used 1 yellow onion instead of white because that is what I had on hand as well as gala apples. I also added a box of raisins (medium)and some about 1/2 cup of leftover strawberry cranberry sauce. I guess I liked it fruitier! Not too keen on the taste of onion and will next time not add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina Amra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
so good. I didn't have enough mayo so I added a bit of half and half to the jar and shook it up to make the the dressing. It was a bit lighter I'm sure but the combo is really refreshing. The apples are not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is very good. I used a whole head (small) of purple cabbage and after tasting the dressing, I added an extra 1/2 tsp. of sugar. Didn't have lemon juice so I used apple cider vinegar. I'll make this again. It came together in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was yummy. Made it with green cabbage and left the onion out (hubby doesn't like raw onions) but kept the dressing as is. Very good, and a nice change from the typical "southern" slaw we always make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Fantastic and simple. Didn't have lemon juice so I went with apple cider vinegar, and next time will likely try it with Greek yogurt instead. Sounds odd, but my husband put some in a container and mixed in some canned tuna to take to work for lunch and he said it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Delicious. I've made it with only one diced red apple and its still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Wonderful salad. I also cut the mayo in half and added plain greek yogurt, a splash of apple juice and an extra apple (2 fuji and 1 granny smith)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Yum! Don't like coleslaw and have never made it, but I may have changed my mind.... Added some citrus champagne vinegar (had some in the cupboard), about a tablespoon to my doubled recipe, and it's fabulous! Gives it a little zing with the sweetness. I also cheated, bought the pre-chopped purple cabbage packages, But I did cut my apples into matchstick-like pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious! Great flavor and surprising pink sauce. Made the mayo in the blender then added the rest of the sauce ingredients sans milk. Skipped the onion too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is one of my all time favorites. Great with hot dogs/hamburgers and once made it as a side w/ stone crab claws. YUM! We like Gala apples, but the green apples look best. For the dressing, I have used vinegar instead of lemon juice in a pinch, and that's good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Nokomis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States