Purple Apple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by serenilla
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I made it with fat free yogurth instead of mayo and added celery and red onion. Turned out the chopping was tedious and Ended up using a processor which was a disaster!!! Baby food that tastes sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Made this slaw tonight with pulled pork sandwiches. It was awesome! The apples were a great compliment to the pork and it looked beautiful on the plate. Also served our favorite Bush's baked beans. No chips or other potatoes needed in my opinion due to the crunch of the apples in the slaw. I did not change any of the ingredients, just made it by taste and site of the consistency that suits our family. Some users said that they added vinegar but i did not as i thought the onions gaved it just enough bite but did not overwhelm the sweetness of the apples if that makes any sense. If anyone is interested i made dr. Pepper pulled pork in my big dutch oven so it cooked all day and this slaw was the only thing i had to really prepare and it only took minutes to cut up and mix. Fabulous dinner was on the table within 30 minutes! Thank you for a new slaw recipe to have in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBUGSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I made this tonight for dinner and it was so simple, fast, and good! I changed a few things; doubled the white onion, added a can of drained chicken (from Costco), used 1/2 cup mayo, 1/4 cup sour cream, 1/2 a squeezed lemon, 1 teaspoon of sugar, 1/2 a teaspoon of salt, and a hand full of raisins. I ate it on top of a bed of lettuce topped with silvered almonds and crasins, my husband and 18 month old ate it like a chicken salad sandwich. I also only used half of a small head of organic baby red cabbage and we still have more for tomorrow. My 10 year old daughter loved it and had thirds and my husband and 18 month old had seconds, and my picky 12 yer old daughter took onebite and turned her nose up at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Used 1/2 cup of light mayonnaise instead. Really nice combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
"Girly Slaw" for a party: it's pink and purple! As others have said, even those who don't like coleslaw love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made as written and liked it, but I wouldn't make it a lot. But it was a great way to get red cabbage into the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Excellent easy side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I only had one apple, it was a granny smith - so I diced it very finely so it would spread out further. Worked very well. We will have this again. Oh and I added finely grated carrot, lest the King protest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
It is very bland & doesn't have much flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkborggren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very tasty...try sprinkling some crushed peanuts on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States