Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I give this 3 stars because the directions were off, not because of taste. The taste was very good, how can you go wrong with pure maple syrup? Here is what happened. I used just 1 1/2 cups of syrup because that was all I had, but it took no where near 5 minutes of stirring to change color and get creamy, more like 30 seconds. I kept stirring, thinking it this couldn't be the creamy consistenecy the recipe was talking about, since it was no where near 5 minutes. Dopey me, I was left with stiff, unmanageable maple sugar. No way it was going in a mold, I put it in a small rectangular dish hoping to cut it into little cubes to serve. But, when I went to cut it, the whole thing crumbled. Now it is a mess of crumbled maple sugar, although it is very tasty. Much of this was my error, I realize, but beware of the stirring time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, and it works well. For those who are having trouble, I suspect (but don't know) you have never, or rarely, made candy or fudge. It takes practice. The person who ended up with bricks crumbling over-boiled the syrup. The person who ended up having to use a mixer under-boiled it. The latter is easily corrected by putting the syrup back on the stove for probably another minute. The first thing I'd check is the thermometer, if you were using one. It may be off -- try it in boiling water, as that is something which is consistent in temperature. If it is off there, then it is off for everything else. If you are not using a thermometer (it is not needed) the timing and mixing will come with practice. Try making fudge first -- it is a bit more forgiving. Also, try leaving out the nuts the first couple of times. This will allow you to learn the proper consistency of the mix for moulding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
By far the easiest and most accurate description of how to make maple sugar candy. This is the soft candy style, not the rockhard style. Follow the directions to the letter and you'll get this right. If the syrup starts to bubble over the pot, add a drop or two of vegetable oil. I made this without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Yummy. Be ready at step 3...as soon as it changes color add the walnuts and pour into molds. Do not hesitate or you will have maple sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is the best recipe I have found for Maple Candy (which is my favorite!) Be advised though! It takes practice to determine the correct time to pour off. This is my third batch and I am still getting the hang of it. The candy turns out perfect for me, but my goal is for it to taste great and look beautiful. I am still working on beautiful... my first few candies look great but they get a little lumpy as the sugar starts to harden. I recommend making small batches in a small pot until you get the hang of it. Thanks so much for the recipe! Where I live I pay as much for a small box of this candy as I do for a large 32 ounce jar of syrup, and 32 ounces makes a lot of candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
YUM! I cannot believe that we did it! My sisters and I decided to give this a try with 1/2 cup of maple syrup because we have never made any candy. We used a 1q pot and stirred occasionally until the thermometer read 235f. As soon as the temp hit 175f we stirred quickly and as soon as the color started to look creamy we started pouring it into a small glass dish covered in parchment paper b/c we were worried that we wouldn't be able to get it out of molds after some of the reviews. Apparently we waited too long b/c we ended up with a delicious lump of maple sugar candy which we ate quickly. 2nd time we used about 1 1/2 cups and it took 2 tries (we had to move to a larger pot b/c it was boiling over the little one) to hit the right temp boiling and then we poured it onto parchment paper lying on the table - it poured out better this time and spread itself into a pancake before hardening. The one we tried in a mini muffin cup came out just fine once totally cooled. Can't wait to continue to perfect and beautify this special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Maple candy is delicious, but part of what makes it so festive is the kind of mold. I haven't made a bunch of candy and didn't realize that the best mold would be small and rubber--this candy is too soft to unmold easily from rigid candy molds. Here's some trouble-shooting that worked for me: I live at high altitude, so I had to reduce the temperature to make it turn out ok (I found the boiling temp of water in my kitchen using a candy thermometer. I subtracted the difference between that temp and 212 F and subtracted the same from the suggested temperature). Before doing the adjustment, I overheated my candy ended up with sugar, so I added water to the sugar make a simple syrup in 2 sugar:1 water ratio and re-heated the syrup to candy temps and went through the recipe again. It worked. I also found the candy set up before I could get it all molded, so I reheated it gently, just until it was pourable again and molded it--it worked. Overall: fun chemistry product that resulted in yummy candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The directions are slightly misleading. It took me four tries, but on that fourth try, oh man, the resulting candy was delicious. So here are my suggestions from a first time candy maker: 1. Make sure the candy thermometer isn't touching the bottom of the pot. 2. It doesn't take nearly 10 minutes for the syrup to cool from 235 to 175 so don't walk away 3. After it cools to 175, stir until the mixture becomes cloudy. For me it didn't turn a lighter color until I poured it into the molds but it did become cloudy and I noticed sugar crystals starting to form on the bottom of the pot. I tried with darker and amber syrup and had much better luck with the amber syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Basically, the maple syrup turns into maple sugar...yum!! I used 1 1/2 cups maple syrup (all I had on hand) instead of 2 cups; perhaps this accounts for the fact that the candy started to harden after only a minute or two of "rapid stirring" rather than five minutes! Since I didn't have time to pour it into the molds, I just pressed it into a pan and (when it cooled) cut it with a knife. It was gobbled up in minutes :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I was so disappointed in this recipe :(. I made it while my sister was visiting and we were very excited and hoping for the taste of melt-in-the-mouth maple candy that we've purchased before. I even bought myself a new candy thermometer just in case. However, the candy is staying soft and creamy, will not come out of the molds, even after chilling in the freezer ...and it cooked forever so if anything it should be too hard, so I have no idea what happened. As for the transformation from syrup to light & creamy, that didn't happen either so we had to use a mixer ...and it took about 10 minutes for it to become light and creamy, looked awesome...but the consistency is like a very undercooked fudge so I suspect the 235 is not high enough of a temp to get moldable results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States