Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I wish i could rate this more that 5 stars, It was the easiest candy i have ever made. It came out just perfect, and tastes just like the maple candy i used to have at christmas as a kid. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaycee1076

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome recipe. So easy!! My Dad used to make his own in upstate NY and he Loved this, was impressed!! I used little snowflake molds and no nuts, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Fritz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Basically, the maple syrup turns into maple sugar...yum!! I used 1 1/2 cups maple syrup (all I had on hand) instead of 2 cups; perhaps this accounts for the fact that the candy started to harden after only a minute or two of "rapid stirring" rather than five minutes! Since I didn't have time to pour it into the molds, I just pressed it into a pan and (when it cooled) cut it with a knife. It was gobbled up in minutes :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I give this 3 stars because the directions were off, not because of taste. The taste was very good, how can you go wrong with pure maple syrup? Here is what happened. I used just 1 1/2 cups of syrup because that was all I had, but it took no where near 5 minutes of stirring to change color and get creamy, more like 30 seconds. I kept stirring, thinking it this couldn't be the creamy consistenecy the recipe was talking about, since it was no where near 5 minutes. Dopey me, I was left with stiff, unmanageable maple sugar. No way it was going in a mold, I put it in a small rectangular dish hoping to cut it into little cubes to serve. But, when I went to cut it, the whole thing crumbled. Now it is a mess of crumbled maple sugar, although it is very tasty. Much of this was my error, I realize, but beware of the stirring time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I was so disappointed in this recipe :(. I made it while my sister was visiting and we were very excited and hoping for the taste of melt-in-the-mouth maple candy that we've purchased before. I even bought myself a new candy thermometer just in case. However, the candy is staying soft and creamy, will not come out of the molds, even after chilling in the freezer ...and it cooked forever so if anything it should be too hard, so I have no idea what happened. As for the transformation from syrup to light & creamy, that didn't happen either so we had to use a mixer ...and it took about 10 minutes for it to become light and creamy, looked awesome...but the consistency is like a very undercooked fudge so I suspect the 235 is not high enough of a temp to get moldable results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe. It turned out just how I imagined it would be (just like the candy I had in Vermont.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Yummy. Be ready at step 3...as soon as it changes color add the walnuts and pour into molds. Do not hesitate or you will have maple sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. It came out perfect using my candy thermometer. Living in the south now I am happy to have the famous New England treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is a good recipe....I just didn't use all that great maple syrup(motor oil) because I didn't want to use good maple syrup and it not work..but I could tell that it's a good recipe just make sure once it turns a lighter colour to put it right in the pan or mold because it'll get hard and not the melt in your mouth maple sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
By far the easiest and most accurate description of how to make maple sugar candy. This is the soft candy style, not the rockhard style. Follow the directions to the letter and you'll get this right. If the syrup starts to bubble over the pot, add a drop or two of vegetable oil. I made this without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States