Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Super Yummy! I read all the reviews, then made a batch and underboiled it because my new thermometer was 5 deg Celcius off. It never changed color after 10 mins, and stayed the consistency of chewy honey cough drops. So I tried again, and they came out great! The reviewers were NOT kidding when they said step 3 goes fast. After 3 or 4 minutes of stirring I noticed the color start to lighten and thicken, then about 30 seconds later it was rock hard in the bottom of the pot. I got out what I could, then turned the stove back on and reheated the mixtre, until it started to melt. I quickly spooned it into silicone mini muffin cups and all is good. The reheated ones are a bit harder then the ones I got out before it got too hard, but still tastes great and they all melt in your mouth. One of the things I miss the most about New England can now be made in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I read all the reviews, because I really wanted to make sure I cooked the syrup precisely! I followed the celcius, but I usually follow a farenheit scale. The temps. seem to vary from each other. And, I believe 5-10 deg. is enough to make this candy turn out or not! Once cooled I also had to beat 10 minutes to get the color and texture described. I poured the whippped syrup into the molds and waited for it to harden to remove, although the directions don't specify how long. However, I struggled to remove the candies from the molds once cooled. They just seemed to want to "STICK!" I then resorted to the freezer, and I managed to get all of the candies out which were very still pretty sticky like taffy. In a blindfolded test I would probably be able to tell what this is, because I LOVE the actual taste of this candy! But, look and texture wise I would not be able to tell what kind of candy it was. I believe the ingredient is right but the method to making these needs to be more detailed, as very slight alterations will change a candy's results. I would use farenheit or celcius but not both, information about how long all of these steps should take, how long it typically takes before the molded candies are hardened enough, where to store the molded candy to harden, and the best way to remove from the molds. Because, I believe I was so close, minus some small mishap likely in the boiling process! At least I will be saving money purchasing maple candy this fall at the cider mill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, and it works well. For those who are having trouble, I suspect (but don't know) you have never, or rarely, made candy or fudge. It takes practice. The person who ended up with bricks crumbling over-boiled the syrup. The person who ended up having to use a mixer under-boiled it. The latter is easily corrected by putting the syrup back on the stove for probably another minute. The first thing I'd check is the thermometer, if you were using one. It may be off -- try it in boiling water, as that is something which is consistent in temperature. If it is off there, then it is off for everything else. If you are not using a thermometer (it is not needed) the timing and mixing will come with practice. Try making fudge first -- it is a bit more forgiving. Also, try leaving out the nuts the first couple of times. This will allow you to learn the proper consistency of the mix for moulding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is the best recipe I have found for Maple Candy (which is my favorite!) Be advised though! It takes practice to determine the correct time to pour off. This is my third batch and I am still getting the hang of it. The candy turns out perfect for me, but my goal is for it to taste great and look beautiful. I am still working on beautiful... my first few candies look great but they get a little lumpy as the sugar starts to harden. I recommend making small batches in a small pot until you get the hang of it. Thanks so much for the recipe! Where I live I pay as much for a small box of this candy as I do for a large 32 ounce jar of syrup, and 32 ounces makes a lot of candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These are great!! Just be sure to pour the candy into your molds (or mini muffin cups, which is what I used) before it cools down too much. It will be sooner than you think. Otherwise, you'll end up with a crumbled mess in your saucepan, and it won't be nearly as pretty -- though still just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
By far the easiest and most accurate description of how to make maple sugar candy. This is the soft candy style, not the rockhard style. Follow the directions to the letter and you'll get this right. If the syrup starts to bubble over the pot, add a drop or two of vegetable oil. I made this without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is a good recipe....I just didn't use all that great maple syrup(motor oil) because I didn't want to use good maple syrup and it not work..but I could tell that it's a good recipe just make sure once it turns a lighter colour to put it right in the pan or mold because it'll get hard and not the melt in your mouth maple sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. It came out perfect using my candy thermometer. Living in the south now I am happy to have the famous New England treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Yummy. Be ready at step 3...as soon as it changes color add the walnuts and pour into molds. Do not hesitate or you will have maple sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe. It turned out just how I imagined it would be (just like the candy I had in Vermont.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States