Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Absolutely perfect recipe! I used a digital thermometer - the same one we use for making syrup and this turned out perfect. After putting in 2 cups, realized I had too large of a pan - so I put in 2 more. Took longer to reach 235, but seemed easier to manage when stirring (based on reviews). My husband has a major sweet tooth- yet he commented that this is really sweeet even for him! Sweet and creamy, just the way maple candy should be! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great recipe! Easy, Delicious and clear directions. For the novice like me, DO NOT ATTEMPT without a candy thermometer. AND, careful- it cools quick at the end- so, in final steps when stirring boiled candy quickly- watch carefully for change and then quick poor into molds. Color didn't signify candy's readiness for molds as much as consistency. Just watch carefully, because the window is narrow from pretty candy to flaky (if tasty) dust bits. We made this for son's state project where all students needed to provide a snack from their studied state. Maple Candy was the perfect taste of Vermont. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
SUPER EASY....AND VERY SMOOTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELOISE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Maple candy is delicious, but part of what makes it so festive is the kind of mold. I haven't made a bunch of candy and didn't realize that the best mold would be small and rubber--this candy is too soft to unmold easily from rigid candy molds. Here's some trouble-shooting that worked for me: I live at high altitude, so I had to reduce the temperature to make it turn out ok (I found the boiling temp of water in my kitchen using a candy thermometer. I subtracted the difference between that temp and 212 F and subtracted the same from the suggested temperature). Before doing the adjustment, I overheated my candy ended up with sugar, so I added water to the sugar make a simple syrup in 2 sugar:1 water ratio and re-heated the syrup to candy temps and went through the recipe again. It worked. I also found the candy set up before I could get it all molded, so I reheated it gently, just until it was pourable again and molded it--it worked. Overall: fun chemistry product that resulted in yummy candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is an easy way to make an all-time favorite. It does take a little bit of practice to get the timing just right. The first few times, I continued stirring until it looked like the familiar cream color of the candies. Now, I do as the directions actually say and stop when it "begins" to become lighter, thicker, and creamier. I don't bother with the candy molds and instead just pour it onto parchment paper, place another layer of parchment on top, press it flat, let it cool, and break it into smaller pieces. It's not as pretty, but much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made this without nuts and it was awesome! It only took about 2 minutes of whipping with a wooden spoon any longer and it wasn't manageable and cooled to much before it was completely in the candy mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
YUM! I cannot believe that we did it! My sisters and I decided to give this a try with 1/2 cup of maple syrup because we have never made any candy. We used a 1q pot and stirred occasionally until the thermometer read 235f. As soon as the temp hit 175f we stirred quickly and as soon as the color started to look creamy we started pouring it into a small glass dish covered in parchment paper b/c we were worried that we wouldn't be able to get it out of molds after some of the reviews. Apparently we waited too long b/c we ended up with a delicious lump of maple sugar candy which we ate quickly. 2nd time we used about 1 1/2 cups and it took 2 tries (we had to move to a larger pot b/c it was boiling over the little one) to hit the right temp boiling and then we poured it onto parchment paper lying on the table - it poured out better this time and spread itself into a pancake before hardening. The one we tried in a mini muffin cup came out just fine once totally cooled. Can't wait to continue to perfect and beautify this special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Super Yummy! I read all the reviews, then made a batch and underboiled it because my new thermometer was 5 deg Celcius off. It never changed color after 10 mins, and stayed the consistency of chewy honey cough drops. So I tried again, and they came out great! The reviewers were NOT kidding when they said step 3 goes fast. After 3 or 4 minutes of stirring I noticed the color start to lighten and thicken, then about 30 seconds later it was rock hard in the bottom of the pot. I got out what I could, then turned the stove back on and reheated the mixtre, until it started to melt. I quickly spooned it into silicone mini muffin cups and all is good. The reheated ones are a bit harder then the ones I got out before it got too hard, but still tastes great and they all melt in your mouth. One of the things I miss the most about New England can now be made in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I read all the reviews, because I really wanted to make sure I cooked the syrup precisely! I followed the celcius, but I usually follow a farenheit scale. The temps. seem to vary from each other. And, I believe 5-10 deg. is enough to make this candy turn out or not! Once cooled I also had to beat 10 minutes to get the color and texture described. I poured the whippped syrup into the molds and waited for it to harden to remove, although the directions don't specify how long. However, I struggled to remove the candies from the molds once cooled. They just seemed to want to "STICK!" I then resorted to the freezer, and I managed to get all of the candies out which were very still pretty sticky like taffy. In a blindfolded test I would probably be able to tell what this is, because I LOVE the actual taste of this candy! But, look and texture wise I would not be able to tell what kind of candy it was. I believe the ingredient is right but the method to making these needs to be more detailed, as very slight alterations will change a candy's results. I would use farenheit or celcius but not both, information about how long all of these steps should take, how long it typically takes before the molded candies are hardened enough, where to store the molded candy to harden, and the best way to remove from the molds. Because, I believe I was so close, minus some small mishap likely in the boiling process! At least I will be saving money purchasing maple candy this fall at the cider mill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, and it works well. For those who are having trouble, I suspect (but don't know) you have never, or rarely, made candy or fudge. It takes practice. The person who ended up with bricks crumbling over-boiled the syrup. The person who ended up having to use a mixer under-boiled it. The latter is easily corrected by putting the syrup back on the stove for probably another minute. The first thing I'd check is the thermometer, if you were using one. It may be off -- try it in boiling water, as that is something which is consistent in temperature. If it is off there, then it is off for everything else. If you are not using a thermometer (it is not needed) the timing and mixing will come with practice. Try making fudge first -- it is a bit more forgiving. Also, try leaving out the nuts the first couple of times. This will allow you to learn the proper consistency of the mix for moulding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States