Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
We used grade B syrup and so ended up with a darker, more richly flavored candy. Two cups of syrup yielded 13 ozs of candy plus some stuck to the pan that we scraped out and ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made this recipe twice now, and I have never made any other type of candy. I'm not sure how I managed to find my grandmother's candy thermometer in my drawer. It is extremely difficult to get the temperature accurately. I used a smaller pot the 2nd time, so that the liquid would be deep enough for an accurate measurement. But, the bubbles were so sticky, they rose up 3" and threatened to boil over even @ medium heat. With a bigger pot, the depth of the syrup/sugar was so shallow the candy thermometer wasn't really deep enough. So, the first time, it was barely solid at room temperature, and the second time, it was solid before I had a chance to pour it (I reheated it and added a touch of water to melt it again). I agree with another poster that the 5 minutes to stir it is far too long. You might consider stirring it over low heat after it reaches 175F to keep it pourable. Of course, the taste is exceptional. It's just maple sugar, straight from my back yard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The directions are slightly misleading. It took me four tries, but on that fourth try, oh man, the resulting candy was delicious. So here are my suggestions from a first time candy maker: 1. Make sure the candy thermometer isn't touching the bottom of the pot. 2. It doesn't take nearly 10 minutes for the syrup to cool from 235 to 175 so don't walk away 3. After it cools to 175, stir until the mixture becomes cloudy. For me it didn't turn a lighter color until I poured it into the molds but it did become cloudy and I noticed sugar crystals starting to form on the bottom of the pot. I tried with darker and amber syrup and had much better luck with the amber syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Awesome.... just follow the directions exactly. Get in molds quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Wow! It worked! Even though I think I messed up, it turned out delicious! Now (as other reviewers have said) I have to try to perfect the pretty part! I think following the directions correctly will help! :) thanks so much for this recipe - even taking into account the messed up batches, its still cheaper to make it yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! This was the only recipe that had such clear instructions and one ingredient. Beware though, it cools down quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Absolutely perfect recipe! I used a digital thermometer - the same one we use for making syrup and this turned out perfect. After putting in 2 cups, realized I had too large of a pan - so I put in 2 more. Took longer to reach 235, but seemed easier to manage when stirring (based on reviews). My husband has a major sweet tooth- yet he commented that this is really sweeet even for him! Sweet and creamy, just the way maple candy should be! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great recipe! Easy, Delicious and clear directions. For the novice like me, DO NOT ATTEMPT without a candy thermometer. AND, careful- it cools quick at the end- so, in final steps when stirring boiled candy quickly- watch carefully for change and then quick poor into molds. Color didn't signify candy's readiness for molds as much as consistency. Just watch carefully, because the window is narrow from pretty candy to flaky (if tasty) dust bits. We made this for son's state project where all students needed to provide a snack from their studied state. Maple Candy was the perfect taste of Vermont. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
SUPER EASY....AND VERY SMOOTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELOISE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States