Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Perfect first try!Used grade B added a little bit of butter at start.I may never make fudge again.KEEP the heat medium.#5 on my stove,bubbled up only about double in size to reach 235.Then about 10 minutes to cool to 175.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yyourchoice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great recipe. Those who used less than the 2 cups, that's why you had less stirring. Less volume=faster heating and faster cooling. Make sure to have a VERY large pan doing this, maple expands 4-7 times its size very rapidly at about 228 F, so for 2 cups a 2 quart saucepan may not quite cut it. I use a 3 qt saucepan and have about a half inch to spare using a 2 cup recipe. For a bit creamier end product allow the syrup to cool to 110-120 before you do the stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was wonderful recipe! My husband and father are both maple candy junkies and I'm so happy to have found an easy make-it-yourself version! Thank you and I will be coming back to this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I didnt have a candy thermometer so I had to use a meat thermometer, which made me nervous. I boiled until 235 and then let cool for only about 8 minutes, because Im a little impatient. I used a large wire wisk instead of a wooden spoon because it allowed me to incorporate more air bubbles (which is what makes the syrup change color) and i stirred as quickly as I could for 5 minutes but it still wasnt quite thick enough so I stirred one more minute and quickly poured it out into a sheet pan. It turned out perfectly and is absolutely delicious. Make sure you use good maple syrup (not the super cheap kind) because it will influence the consistency of the candy. I initially read the reviews and thought I would mess up the recipe, luckily I didnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Maple Candy looks yummy! We made it with 1 cup of maple syrup and used mini muffin pans. I haven't tried eating it yet but, it seemed a little tricky to make. That's why I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is the first time making this recipe and it turned out perfect. I was a little nervous as i set a timer for 10 mins for the candy therm. to cool down to 175 it did not. I waited a few more minutes then started to stir for the 5 minutes. 2 minutes in the stirring, it turned hard fast. Didn't have the molds so I used a plastic container lined with parchment paper. I followed the recipe to the tee other then the timing was a little off with cool down and stirring it still turned out excellent. will make again. Thank you for the recipe. Melanie from Toronto, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was my first time making candy of any kind which is probably why it turned out wrong. I tried to mix it till it changed color but then it started to harden, so I went ahead and flattened it and ended up with a caramel like candy (the kind that pulls teeth). It tastes amazing, it's definitely getting eaten, but what did I do wrong? I think I overcooked it a little (used candy therm, accidentally went over 5 degrees or so), maybe used too large of a pot? Help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is a very easy recipe. Some suggestions: 1- use a candy thermometer with a setting for soft ball stage. 2- lightly grease the sides of your pan, it keeps the syrup from boiling up 3- do not stir while bringing to 235' then turn off the burner and let cool 4-cooling down time depends on how good your pans are, the better the pan the longer it takes 5- if putting into molds first grease them! (I did not add nuts.) Then figure out the measurement per piece, as you fill the molds keep the syrup on or near a burner that is on low. You can lightly reheat the candy syrup to a workable stage as you are filling the molds. Let cool, they pop right out and are the softest most texture of any maple candy I have eaten! Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
It took me 2 tries, 2nd was better. First was a burn issue...the time from lovely smelling to ewwww, its burnt is like a millisecond. It also makes SUCH a small amount, no way that this is cost effective. I cant imagine if I had molds it would ever have filled 18 leaves. It does taste great..I did the parchment paper flat thing and cracked it into small pieces. Good luck...I recommend boiling water first and getting the boiling point for yourself first, then doing the math to subtract/add the degrees needed to get to 235 +/-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This recipe made the kitchen smell so good when it was cooking! I think that I over cooked it though because after around 2 minutes of cooling it turned into a brown sugar consistancy. I will definitaly try it agaion thoug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States