Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This actually worked out for me almost exactly to the directions listed! After reading the reviews, I was concerned it wouldn't. I did use a tip from another comment. Once the syrup was cloudy & smooth, it quickly set up in the pot-I added a small amount (probably about a teaspoon) of water and added it back to low heat and brought it back to a liquid. I left it on the low heat while I poured the liquid into the silicone molds. The candies came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Delicious!! I love maple syrup, so this was amazing! The first time I made it, I didn't have a candy thermometer. Instead, I had a cup of cool water next to the boiling syrup. Every few minutes while it is boiling, spoon a drop of syrup into the cold water, and if it stays together in a drop, feel it. If it feels a bit like gel, then the syrup is at the right temperature. Again, since I didn't have a thermometer, I just waited 10 minutes before I stirred it. When you get to the third step, it definitely does not take 5 minutes of stirring! It took me about a minute or two. But it is better to pour it into the molds sooner rather than later, because if you wait too long, it hardens in the pot and turns into sugar instead of candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Perfect first try!Used grade B added a little bit of butter at start.I may never make fudge again.KEEP the heat medium.#5 on my stove,bubbled up only about double in size to reach 235.Then about 10 minutes to cool to 175.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yyourchoice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great recipe. Those who used less than the 2 cups, that's why you had less stirring. Less volume=faster heating and faster cooling. Make sure to have a VERY large pan doing this, maple expands 4-7 times its size very rapidly at about 228 F, so for 2 cups a 2 quart saucepan may not quite cut it. I use a 3 qt saucepan and have about a half inch to spare using a 2 cup recipe. For a bit creamier end product allow the syrup to cool to 110-120 before you do the stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was wonderful recipe! My husband and father are both maple candy junkies and I'm so happy to have found an easy make-it-yourself version! Thank you and I will be coming back to this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I didnt have a candy thermometer so I had to use a meat thermometer, which made me nervous. I boiled until 235 and then let cool for only about 8 minutes, because Im a little impatient. I used a large wire wisk instead of a wooden spoon because it allowed me to incorporate more air bubbles (which is what makes the syrup change color) and i stirred as quickly as I could for 5 minutes but it still wasnt quite thick enough so I stirred one more minute and quickly poured it out into a sheet pan. It turned out perfectly and is absolutely delicious. Make sure you use good maple syrup (not the super cheap kind) because it will influence the consistency of the candy. I initially read the reviews and thought I would mess up the recipe, luckily I didnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Maple Candy looks yummy! We made it with 1 cup of maple syrup and used mini muffin pans. I haven't tried eating it yet but, it seemed a little tricky to make. That's why I gave it 4 stars. UPDATE; They didn't end up turning out as good as I thought. Will definitely try a different one next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is the first time making this recipe and it turned out perfect. I was a little nervous as i set a timer for 10 mins for the candy therm. to cool down to 175 it did not. I waited a few more minutes then started to stir for the 5 minutes. 2 minutes in the stirring, it turned hard fast. Didn't have the molds so I used a plastic container lined with parchment paper. I followed the recipe to the tee other then the timing was a little off with cool down and stirring it still turned out excellent. will make again. Thank you for the recipe. Melanie from Toronto, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was my first time making candy of any kind which is probably why it turned out wrong. I tried to mix it till it changed color but then it started to harden, so I went ahead and flattened it and ended up with a caramel like candy (the kind that pulls teeth). It tastes amazing, it's definitely getting eaten, but what did I do wrong? I think I overcooked it a little (used candy therm, accidentally went over 5 degrees or so), maybe used too large of a pot? Help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is a very easy recipe. Some suggestions: 1- use a candy thermometer with a setting for soft ball stage. 2- lightly grease the sides of your pan, it keeps the syrup from boiling up 3- do not stir while bringing to 235' then turn off the burner and let cool 4-cooling down time depends on how good your pans are, the better the pan the longer it takes 5- if putting into molds first grease them! (I did not add nuts.) Then figure out the measurement per piece, as you fill the molds keep the syrup on or near a burner that is on low. You can lightly reheat the candy syrup to a workable stage as you are filling the molds. Let cool, they pop right out and are the softest most texture of any maple candy I have eaten! Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States