Pupusas de Queso (Cheese-Stuffed Tortillas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
For my first time making these I added re-fried black beans and Monzarrella cheese in the middles :) The Pupusas were delicious, even my toddler ate some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I'm from Honduras and pupusas is a stable there. What gives it is unique flavor is that It is cook in lard or pig fat. If you can't find any at the store just cook bacon for the grease and use it. I have not made el curtido because is a time process, you have to let it ferment for some time before eating it. As it ferments the flavors come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Didn't like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I totally agree with all of the other reviewers that making pupusas must be an art. I attempted, and my results weren't very pretty. Plus, I just don't think I am that big of a fan in general. I gave it a try because my son was begging, and even he didn't want to eat them in the end. He said that they don't taste like what he gets in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
My mom's friend owns and operates a pupuseria in L.A. She shared with us that to keep the pupusas from drying out or being too dry she adds one tablespoon of baking powder to the masa harina before adding the water. She adds a little salt as well. I have to say, adding baking powder made a HUGE difference in the consistency of the masa. I used cooking spray on the skillet before cooking and they turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
thank you for sharing Jenny :) I was looking for a better dough recipe then what I had. My favorite pupusa is pork or chicarron and cheese. In the past I've had trouble with the dough so I started using a tortilla press, for me this works really well, also because my hands aren't great from carpal tunnel. Your Curtido is awesome as well.Thanks again for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Definitely needed more water! I've never made pupusas before, so I didn't know what to expect. Should have read the reviews, because I got very heavy, dry, crumbly, cracking pupusas by following these directions. Still, I love the idea and I will try them again! Thanks for introducing me to a new type of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I have never had these, but wanted to use up some of the masa harina I had. The family loved them. I would give 5 stars, but I found there wasn't enough water to form a dough. I had to add almost another cup of water to be able to work the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
love this with the "curtido". I like to just buy "mexican crumbling cheese" and just slice it and put it between the "harina dough" and pan fry with a couple tbs olive oil and 1 tbs of real unsalted butter..yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deniseoyola1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States