Puppy Chow Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
made it it was better with a lot of confectioners sugar 6-7 cups of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etak96
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
tasted good, but didnt look that appealing (maybe because it's called puppy chow?) probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This recipe has always been one of my favorites! Takes me back to my childhood. It is so quick and easy to make. I didn't want to waste any of the left over ingredients, so I doubled it. I love that this recipe calls for only one type of cereal mix. Most recipes call for different varieties, but it all tastes the same to me. I just added a little extra conf sugar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
We loved this puppy chow! I have made it twice in the last four days actually. The first time I made it just to have to eat around the house for my family, and I thought it was a little too chocolate-y. So the second time I made it for my three year old's preschool class I added about another 1/2 cup of peanut butter to balance out the chocolate. It was a hit with both my family and the preschool class! So easy to make and very addicting. I will be making this again fairly often because we all liked it so much. Thanks for the recipe, Nicky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Perfect puppy chow! The only thing I did was add a little bit more powdered sugar than what is recommended, more like 2 cups. Makes a healthy amount of puppy chow good for gifting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I love puppy chow. I originally made it when I was in third grade and our teacher called it Reindeer Chow for the holidays ahaha. Now that I'm almost 22, I make it every year around Christmas to give to friends. It's much better home made than it is when you find it in the store. As for this recipe, I also reduced the amount of cereal to 8 cups. I liked the option of putting the butter and vanilla in, but a whole stick was a little much. Also, if you put the butter in and you plan to make this in the microwave, bad idea. The butter makes the chocolate and peanut butter stick together like crazy. I had to put hot milk in the mixture jus to make it smooth enough to coat the cereal. Might be better if done in a pot/pan on the stove. Over all though, a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Can substitute Sunbutter for the peanut butter and the taste is great! I also used 3 T. butter and a little vanilla...just to to see how it turned out. I loved it! As other reviewers said...decrease your cereal amount a little and you'll be set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
really really great recipe! use chunky peanut butter though ;) it really adds something to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I used cinnamon flavored Chex and left out the peanut butter: delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I have made a version like this for years but I use Golden Grahams instead and add raisins and peanuts. My son cannot have gluten so I make a version using the Honey Chex cereal and he loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdhendrick6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States