Puppy Chow Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
My kids ask for this atleast once a month! I make mine with butter, and a little vanilla though. It is SO ADDDICTIVE! I only wish it weren't so unhealthy! It probably wouldn't taste so good if it were! LOl Oh, well. You only live once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I was out of chocolate and really wanted to make this for my son's 6 hour road trip, so I substituted butterscotch chips and it just may become a favorite of ours! I also took suggestions from others of adding 1/4 c butter and 2 t. vanilla. LOVED the idea of plastic wrap covering my measuring cup before the peanut butter, which made me think to use cooking spray on first my spoon before measuring the peanut butter and then on my hands to mix the cooked mixture into the cereal easier than a spoon! I also loved the idea of shaking it in paperbag vs plastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was awesome! My wife made it for Thanksgiving, and let's just say it didn't last long:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHalls1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Warning: Don't make this for a snack or you'll eat the whole thing by yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
i do use a little more chocolate chips than called for. And if you do in micrwave you cant over cook the chocolate or it does come out to *chawky* as she said, just know your microwave and do a few seconds at a time starting at 30 seconds. But I do on stove top. I add teaspoon of vanilla as well. IT is addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I have to disagree about using the microwave. I tried it for 1 minute on high, stirred it, and microwaved it another 30 seconds. My chocolate came out a weird, chalky consistency. It was very difficult to coat the pieces. I tried heating it again and it did not help. Perhaps this is just my microwave or the type of chips I used? Either way, I tried making it again using the original stove-top directions and it was FABULOUS. We added a little cocoa powder to make it extra chocolatey and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Came out perfect! wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I've never had puppy chow before, so I didn't know what to expect. I thought it was good, but the ratio of peanut butter and chocolate was off for me. I would have enjoyed less peanut butter. I'll definitely make this again in the future but I'll probably cut the peanut butter in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I like this recipe, and its pretty easy to make. I just wish the instructions would have mentioned that 9 cups of this cereal is really about one 12.8 oz box. That would have saved me some confusion,and some money since I bought 2 boxes. I made this exactly as directed, using chunky peanut butter as mentioned in a comment. I also added some mini M&Ms to add some color because it looked a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I love puppy chow.... I make it a bit different sometimes were I will add butterscotch chips insted of chocolate chips. makes it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States