Puppy Chow II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is a great base recipe, but I like to cut the peanut butter to 1/2 cup, add 1 1/4 cups of chocolate chips, and 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips, which add a little bit of something extra. I melt all of this in a large pan and then add the cereal to the pan to cut on dishes. I also add about half a bag of powdered sugar to a double-lined paper bag. I let the puppy chow sit for about 5 minutes in the fridge before adding it to the bag. Shake vigourously for a few minutes to make sure each piece is completely covered, and then just toss the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Delicious recipe! I make this for gifts at Christmas. I once made the mistake of doubling the recipe because I needed so much. If you need two batches, then definitely make separate batches. A great sweet snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
My daughter had Puppy Chow at a band party last year and loved it. She had no idea what the ingredients were. Needless to say, I was so pleased to find that All Recipes had a selection of Puppy Chow recipes to choose from. Now it's my turn to host the Band Party and I followed Stephanie's recipe. My daughter said it looks the same but isn't quite sweet enough. After reading the reviews of other Puppy Chow recipes, next time I will add less peanut butter and mix semi-sweet & milk chocolate morsels and more powdered sugar. I liked another reviewers idea adding M&Ms and pretzel pieces to the mix. Thanks,Stephanie, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Excellent starting point, thank you! I used 1/3rd corn chex, 1/3rd wheat chex, and 1/3rd mini pretzels. I also added 1/2 cup chocolate chips for total coverage. Let sit in fridge for 20 minutes or so before covering with powedered sugar (which I doubled for complete coverage). Finally, after coating, I placed on pan and put in freezer for 30 minutes before serving. This allowed for a wonderful non messy non sticky snack that my whole family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was a great recipe for me and my 4 children. They loved it. It was so easy! One thing. The butter, chocolate, and butter mixture was VERY thick so after I melted it I added just a splash of milk. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This is so yummy. My sister-in-law usually makes it, so I came here to find the recipe. I added some mini pretzel twists, and I used 2 cups of choc. chips. Very addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is a fun Christmas recipe. It is easy and my friends thought it was big fun. This recipes tastes like Puppy Chow is supposed to -- if only we could come up with a more appealing name . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
So addictive and easy to make! However, being impatient, I didn't wait until the mix cooled enough for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
My family loves this... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States