Puppy Chow I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
good recipe, tastes just like the store bought. I used crispix cereal and next time I'll use a 12 oz box instead of the 17.5 oz box to make it more chocolatey all over. With the bigger box, not all of the pieces were completely covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Just like I remember from Girl Scouts! The method that works best for me is to use the 16 oz box of chex, mix it in a BIG bowl, and shake in the powdered sugar 1/3 at a time in the cereal bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I wasn't sure if I should use this recipe or the one with only PB and chocolate chips as opposed to this one with butter, but I sure am glad I used this one! So are the kids! So delicious, and the hubby is taking some to work tonight. I will make this many, many more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Always a great dessert/snack, aka Sweet Minglers. It helps to add a teaspoon of vanilla to the saucepan after the ingredients have all melted together, just for flavor and also consistency of the choc/peanut butter/butter stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
The flavor was good but I think the recipe calls for too much powdered sugar. Everyone liked this so I will make it again, but I will cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Love this recipe for kids and adults!! Very tasty....I served it in a new dog dish and the kids loved that. I did make and error and pick up the 12 oz box of cereal instead of the 17 1/2 oz box and found that I did not need the entire pound of powdered sugar....but might have needed it if I had the larger box of cereal. I used a store brand of Rice Chex and it tasted great. Didn't really need the name brand for this. Will definitely make this again. I can see it very popular at kid parties or to put in snack bags as treats for Halloween parties with a card stock tag shaped like a bone with "PUPPY CHOW" written on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Have never seen nor made recipe before this. Is is supposed to be really white? I reduced the icing sugar because it was really really sweet so mine turned out kinda greyish brown? Does it mean I need more icing sugar? I used margarine instead of butter and don't know if it makes a difference. They are delicious though, what ever color you get. The worst part about this recipe is that you cannot get Chex cereals in western Canada easily. I used Kellogg's crisp X. It worked great. Excuse me, I have to get back to my snack now....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Here is a tip from years of making puppy chow.... use a NEW clean garbage bag to mix the whole thing in. First, toss some powdered sugar in the bag, close it up and shake the heck out of it. This coats the sides which will make things stick less. Dump in the chocolately chex, add some powdered sugar, close the bag up (trapping air in it) and shake it again. Keep adding more powdered sugar until each piece stays separated and is the sweetness you want. Cleanup is a snap. Just toss the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I added some vanilla. My box of Chex was only 16 oz? This recipe never fails. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Great! I think the the milk chocolate chips make all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States