Puppy Chow I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Please full view this I have a great story here! I remember originally getting this recipe from my next door neighbor when I babysat for her. I have also seen puppy chow done with icing and m and m's before. I personally am not a big chocolate fan so I have done it with butterscotch chips instead! I sold them for a girl scout bake sale one year and remember getting great feedback for the butterscotch too! I know there are a bunch of different baking chips out there that I will also have to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Just what I wanted. Love this recipe. Used a bit less cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
So addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Puppy chow is a staple in my home (my 4 year old autistic son struggles to get enough protein, so this is a nice way to sneak protein in!). I love this recipe because things are "even". Full stick of butter, full box (I also use a smaller 14oz box) of cereal, etc. I also agree you don't need a full pound of powedered sugar. I make this every week or two, so I've got a system down: melt the ingredients in the pan as stated dump cereal in a big bowl pour melted mixture over cereal and stir sprinkle about 2 cups powdered sugar in a large bowl with a lid pour the cereal mixture over the sugar, top with about 1 more cup sugar cover bowl with lid and shake in various directions (hold the lid on!) to coat the cereal. Add more sugar and repeat if needed. I keep this in a cookie jar for easy snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
My family loves this stuff. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryll Wiley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was great! My 9 year old made it for her How To speech at school. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I've made this using both white and semi-sweet chocolate chips and both are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I make this every year at Christmas time, and it always turns out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
just as good as when I was a kid! :) I used margarine & had no trouble with it clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Can't go too wrong with this classic recipe, but I agree with others that there was way too much powdered sugar. Less would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States