Puppy Chow I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I used a 14 oz. box of Corn Chex, but next time, I would decrease the amount of cereal to 12 oz. to ensure more coating for the individual pieces. I also always add vanilla extract to enhance the flavor. Overall, this is a great, easy dessert snack with a simple recipe. It's nice to have on hand during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I made it for the 4-H Dog Club for a cute snack, and everyone loved it. Make sure you melt everything slowly... (This was my first time melting peanut butter and I made the mistake of having the heat on too high, but I fixed it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I've been making this for years, I actually start by putting the cereal right into the paper bag and add the chocolate mixture on top. I also add nuts and raisins as well. You have to shake it really well to get it all coated, then add the 10x sugar and shake it again, by the time you add the sugar, everything gets separated and it works great. Easy peazy clean-up! Great recipe to make with kids, no hot pans, no sharp utensils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Great recipe. We added the powdered sugar a little at a time, so we didn't get too much. Still trying to figure out a way to get the chocolate/peanut butter mix more evenly distributed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilydonovan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
So so good! A couple of changes/additions I make: use a 12 oz box, and add 1 tsp of vanilla to the melted mixture. I get a big big bowl and stir as I pour the melted mixture over the cereal. Once the cereal is coated, I take the bag that the cereal came in and add some powdered sugar and a few scoops of coated cereal and shake that bag! I repeat that a few times until the whole amount is done. Then pour into another big bowl and eat as much as I desire (and there's a lot!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappySideUp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Brought this to a party and it was a complete hit!!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
recipe was Ok. I used less cereal then recipe called for and that helped alot. It calls for way too much powdered sugar also, half the amount would have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Made with rice Krispy treats cereal. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This is the recipe that I used. The only thing I changed was that I used a 12 oz. box of cereal and chunky peanut butter. SOOOO yummy! Very chocolaty and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Love this! So fun to shake it in the paper bag. You can easily make this gluten and dairy free by using earth balance spread and dairy free chocolate chips. The rice chex are already gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States